Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 08:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Asus mother board with eatx12v help please

Hello,

I'm building my first PC and have a question..

I ordered a ASUS P5Q LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard
as well as a
Thermaltake W0070RUC TR2 Series 430W Power Supply.

I have the same mother board in another machine as I wanted to order the same so I
had a reference to go by.

Today I got my PS and Case. I noticed that the PS unit that I got has no "EATX12V" on it. I'm not sure what this is so maybe you guys could help me out.

Someone said this was if I wanted to run a high end PCI express graf card. If not then I would leave the cap on this and use the 4pin 12 V plug there.

Any ideas. I attached an image of the mother board and links below to the hardware.

This is the same mother board I have but mine does not have the liquid cool.

newegg Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131295

newegg Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153023


Thank you
Sean
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 08:24 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

I highly recommend you use this as it will provide better and more stable voltage to your board for all functions.

If your PSU lacks one save up some pennies for a new PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 08:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Hello Thanx

Hello,

Could you recommend one for me..

I have around 50-75.00 to spend ?

Any ideas ?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 08:36 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

Well check yours first.. it'll be referred to as EPS 12v and is usually 4+4
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 08:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Hey

Hey,

Only has one 4 pin 12V connection.. No EPS 12V


Thanx
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 08:45 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Mpis welcome to the forums!!

If could tell me where you will be purchasing your PSU I might be able to offer you suggestions from their current line that is within your budget.

Many thanks,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 08:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Hi

Hello Eagle.


First thank you for your help..

Right now I'm using Amazon...

And also I have a Antec P182 Advanced Super Case which seems to have little room for a large power supply.. I guess there are diff sized power supplies ? ??

Any help would be great and appreciated..


thank you
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 09:31 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

I agree the P182 does have issues with larger PSUs currently I have Antec TPQ 850 and its an extremely tight squeeze.

Suggestions:

Amazon.com: Antec NEOHE 550 High Efficiency 550W Power Supply Unit: Computers & PC Hardware

Have you considered purchasing from any other e-tailers, I imagine you are currently in the U.S.A.?

I'd suggest giving www.newegg.com a try much better selection and prices are reasonably competitive.

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 09:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Hello,


Just check this out..

It says 2 x 12V (P4)

Is that the EATX12V that I need?

Seems I would use both of those to hook into the mother board right ?

Ready to order :)


Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 10:40 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Correct this PSU has the 8 Pin 12v connection you need.

Oh and I saw the board that you got from Asus and my goodness that is worst placement of any 24pin ATX power connection I have ever seen, what was Asus thinking!
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes