Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2008, 08:45 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,666
Default

it might be a good idea for AMD to leave some headroom but you really have to wonder why would they release them clocked so lowly if they can hit 4ghz on air. Ofcourse you could ask the same for Intel.

Well, heres to hoping AMD has got itself back on track
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 12:18 PM
khelben1979's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 41
Default

I'm very interested in the AMD Deneb core architecture as well. Will be interesting to see some figures once they arrive. From what I have understood they require less power than the current Phenom chips which is more than positive.

My future computer system will consume less power than my current system is the plan. And at the same time I'm after great cpu and graphics performance.

Looking forward on seeing the Phenom II in action.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 12:58 PM
S_G's Avatar
S_G S_G is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, home of the Canadiens
Posts: 830
Default

Wow, I might have to go AMD to check these puppies out. If only for the overclocking madness!
__________________
HTPC: MSI Z77A-G43 + i5-3570k@4.6 + 16GB DDR3-1600 + GTX 580 + X-Fi Platinum on water
Work: 13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB
Old Workstation: X7DWA-N : 2x Xeon E5330 Quads @ 3GHz + 24GB FB-DIMM DDR2-800 on water
1x 8800 Ultra --> Sony GDM-FW900 + LVM-37w3se // HT Omega Striker ~ (optical) Pioneer SE-DIR800C ~+ SE-DHP800 / HD 280 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 02:15 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Hopefully its not all about the overclocking and their cpus will compete with at least the c2d's clock for clock. Dont feel like having a 3ghz quad that i have to oc to 4ghz just to match a 3ghz c2d :\ If they can pull that off i may just go amd on my build, depending on the cost of these things.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 05:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonwall View Post
Hopefully its not all about the overclocking and their cpus will compete with at least the c2d's clock for clock. Dont feel like having a 3ghz quad that i have to oc to 4ghz just to match a 3ghz c2d :\ If they can pull that off i may just go amd on my build, depending on the cost of these things.
What about a 3G quad you could overclock to 4.5G that would match the best performance you could get out of a 3G intel clocked to 3.8G? If they can pull that off at a decent price point, I'm in. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 05:59 PM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khelben1979 View Post
My future computer system will consume less power than my current system is the plan. And at the same time I'm after great cpu and graphics performance.

Looking forward on seeing the Phenom II in action.
Don't look to AMD for power saving if you like overclocking.
I have a 90 Nm 170 Opty, 3 year old technology.

It sucks 200 watts at full load
Thank God it's under water! (Thank God My Mobo can take it)

Now a 140 watt or 125 watt Phenom 2 is gonna suck WHAT OMFG at 3.95 Ghz

It's gonna SUCK A LOT! I can hardly wait.

Although I guess if you enable C&Q and run stock, everything should be fine.
__________________
Opty 170(naked) @2600 | Abit AT8 32x | EVGA Vanilla 8800gt 650/1625/950 | 2gb Ocz Pc4000Eb@260 | Audigy Gamer | Tx650 | Cm690 |

WC Loop: DD Cpx-Pro | HWL 240 Xtreme | D-Tek V2
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 06:01 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

I don't really find this to be that exciting; there are reports of i7's hitting similar mhz all around. Until I see one, running at those speeds in my hand I won't really give it any weight. Not to mention; AMD yet again trying to stab at generations old technology.

When they move away from ZIF, I'll start to take their endeavors more seriously. Just my 2 cents! haha
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 06:48 PM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
I don't really find this to be that exciting!
I think it's exciting!
__________________
Opty 170(naked) @2600 | Abit AT8 32x | EVGA Vanilla 8800gt 650/1625/950 | 2gb Ocz Pc4000Eb@260 | Audigy Gamer | Tx650 | Cm690 |

WC Loop: DD Cpx-Pro | HWL 240 Xtreme | D-Tek V2
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 04:20 AM
khelben1979's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 41
Default

Regarding low power consumption with the Phenom II: I believe they will do the same as they have done with the current Phenom chips, releasing slower models which consumes more than half of the most powerful Phenom chips.

When it comes to performance, I'm excited to get more fps in Spellforce 1 (from JoWood). It's a bit slow on my five year old Pentium 4 processor over here. It's a pretty cpu intensive game with a slow 3D engine.

Spellforce was released in 2003 and if I could play the game in 1024x768 with great performance I would be more than satisfied.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 04:28 AM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

You could just get a current Core 2 and half-decent video card and you would be more than satisfied if that is your requirements.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes