Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 03:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 23
Default q6600 anything better?

is there anything better then the q6600 for the same price performance range? im lookin to buy a computer

*sorry guys this should be in the new builds section if anyone could help me move*

and hello im new here nice to meet everyone

Last edited by angy; November 2, 2008 at 04:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 04:03 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

What are you doing with the computer? Depending, a dual-core may actually be better suited for what you're planning to do, especially where cheaper overclocking is concerned.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 04:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 23
Default

i was thinking either picking up the E8400 or Q6600 , i dont usually do much but surf and watch movies and sometimes convert movies but i also want to game a bit like dead space or gta4 when the time comes without lagging much like my old pc so i think i'll be do a lil bit of everything and thats where my dilemma comes in as ive read the e8400 is better for gaming and q6600 multi tasking yet everyone recommends it to be future proof. Ive seen other cpus around but im not sure if they are in the same league.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 04:42 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

convert movies? how so.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 05:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 23
Default

rmvb to dvd =P with the amd3000 i have right now it doesnt seem to take much processing power any how and i only do it while i sleep
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 05:56 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

then just get a 8400.

the software you use is possibly not multi-threaded and wouldn't use the other cores.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes