Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 28, 2008, 03:45 PM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs

Default Opteron 165 to an e5200 worth the upgrade?

Hi all!

I've put off upgrading for quite some time, as I'm currently doing my Master's in English (having paid my own way, with the help of student loans), and trying to save my pennies toward a wedding in July. However, I'm interested in playing some new games like Farcry 2 (which I'm hoping my g/f will buy me for Xmas), and even with some of my more recent games things are starting to feel a little bottlenecked. On the bright side, I snagged an 8800GT when they dipped below $100, so all I need is mobo/ram/cpu.

My current setup is:
Asus A8N-E
Opteron 165 @ 2.5ghz
2GB OCZ PC3200 RAM
8800GT
Silverstone ST500F 500W PSU
XP Pro

Because funds are so low, I was thinking the best route would be for me to see if I could get my hands on used parts, probably an e5200 (which I would OC the hell out of), a Gigabyte EP45 (or 35) mobo and preferably 4GB of Mushkin RAM. I'm hoping to put it all together for about $150-175.

Would I see much of a performance increase if I could get all of this together? I hear the e5200 OCs like mad, and it's the next gen of architecture, so I would hope there would be some improvement there.

Any thoughts?

Cheers!
Old October 28, 2008, 04:05 PM
F@H

My System Specs

Night and day between an opty and a C2D when you consider that even the newer AM2 procs are underperformers when compared to intels.

How much of a boost will you see??? Seems to me the thread I was reading on Farcry 2 suggested that it was quite CPU dependant so you should see a fair boost.

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Old October 28, 2008, 04:35 PM

My System Specs