Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2006, 10:20 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default Help! old floppy compatible???

pant, pant, Hi!-- pant, pant, pant....new computer here-- yippee! Need to flash new bios......need floppy....found 10 year old one.....worry about compatability....help....hurry..:D
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2006, 11:10 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

A 10 year old floppy drive is probably a standard one. (I'd guess going back to early 90's for earlier versions).

What mobo are you flashing??? Did you check the website to see if they have a bios flash cd available?

If not, I'd suggest looking into making a bootable cd to run it off of. Winflash is a no-no, floppy flash is better (only if you have a ram disk you can copy the flash program & bios file to), but bootable cd or usb key is the safest.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2006, 10:02 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
pant, pant, Hi!-- pant, pant, pant....new computer here-- yippee! Need to flash new bios......need floppy....found 10 year old one.....worry about compatability....help....hurry..:D
Glad to hear your computer finally arrived.:D

10 years old hmm.... I think it should be ok. See if it says 1.44 stamped on it anywhere. If so it will work fine. Good luck and if you need more help let us know.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2006, 10:12 PM
UNESCO's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 61
Default

i don't even know where my floppy went, I bought one but it's in a box somewhere now that motherboards have SATA driver support
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2006, 07:34 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

yeah 10 years...I think I will try it tommorrow though.. Anyway, I overlcoked the fsb anyway with the original bios-- have a look at the other thread i started and tell me what you think of the results.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2006, 06:33 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

I'll always have a FDD lieing around the house and i'll continue to do so until all new MB's can flash from CD or USB key. You can get a FDD for $10.00 so why not.:)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2006, 11:34 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Have you flashed yet????

General rule of thumb for bios flashing is "if it ain't broke..... don't fix it!!!"

Of all the things you can do to your system, flashing the bios is probably the most dangerous, and is only recommended if there is something in the update that you need.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2006, 11:58 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for reassuring me on that- I was thinking I would skip it since things seemed to be going pretty good with it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F6 floppy driver ACER Aspire 360? francois methot O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 April 5, 2008 03:56 AM
What aftermarket coolers are compatible with 8x00series? AERo Water Cooling 5 December 18, 2007 12:26 PM
X-fi Mode changer app Now compatible with Prelude Robscix Audio 0 November 13, 2007 11:42 AM
Striker Extreme/ compatible memory? wpurcell CPU's and Motherboards 2 August 23, 2007 01:41 AM
Will my mobo be compatible? Shiverwarp RAM 1 July 19, 2007 04:14 AM