Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2007, 05:04 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default New simplified AMD nomenclature

According to DailyTech blogger, Kristopher Kubicki, AMD will be simplifying its nomenclature for upcoming 45W CPUs.



Tired of writing a book to describe a CPU? So is AMD

If typing "AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W 1MB L2 Brisbane" feels like a chore, don't fret as you'll only have to put up with it a little bit longer. AMD's newest roadmap reveals the company has plans to change the naming schedule of its upcoming processors.

The first of these processors to get the new nomenclature are the low-power, dual-core Brisbane CPUs. These processors, clocked in the 1.9 GHz to 2.3 GHz range, will feature a 45W thermal envelope. AMD guidance claims these chips will get a simpler designation than "Athlon 64 X2 4000+ 45W 1MB L2 Brisbane."

Each of these new processors will be named as follows:
  • AMD BE-2400: 45W Brisbane, 2.3 GHz
  • AMD BE-2350: 45W Brisbane, 2.1 GHz
  • AMD BE-2300: 45W Brisbane, 1.9 GHz
Low-end, single-core Sempron cores will also get this designation, as follows:
  • LE-1300: 45W Sparta, 2.3 GHz
  • LE-1250: 45W Sparta, 2.2 GHz
  • LE-1200: 45W Sparta, 2.1 GHz
  • LE-1150: 45W Sparta, 2.0 GHz
  • LE-1100: 45W Sparta, 1.9 GHz
Upcoming K10-based Agena, Kuma, Rana will likely receive similar name changes, though AMD has not revealed these names yet.

From DailyTech

UPDATE:

Dual-core Agena processors will be labeled as Phenom X2; quad-core Agena as Phenom X4. The halo products, Agena FX and its family, will receive the brand name Phenom FX.

Phenom is pronounced as an abbreviated version of the word "phenomenal." AMD's guidance states that the company will promote its Phenom X4 and X2 processors under the premise that Phenom allows its users to "experience the Phenomenal."

The company will still retain its Athlon and Sempron brand names -- Athlon on its mid-range products and Sempron on up the low-end
.

Also from DailyTech

Last edited by Babrbarossa; May 3, 2007 at 05:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2007, 06:51 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

IDK how this is easier
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2007, 07:40 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

well now you can just search AMD BE-2400, and you'll know exactly what CPU you'll find
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2007, 07:58 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

I guess but now i got to relearn what a be-2400 is lol
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2007, 03:48 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,491

My System Specs

Default

I just hope they allow "Phenom" to run DDR2 and on my motherboard. K10 is really the only reason I went back to AMD..........
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes