Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2008, 11:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Default Q9550 Temps

Hey all, just built my new system up. Specs as follows:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550.
CPU Cooler: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme with Antec Tricool 120mm fan.
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Pro.
Graphics: Xpertvision Radeon HD4870 1GB.
RAM: 4GB Corsair Dominator Twin2X PC2-8500.
HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB.
DVD Drive: Samsung SH-S223Q 22X SATA Lightscribe Dual layer DVD±RW Writer Black - OEM.
PSU: PCP&C Silencer Quad 750w.
Case: Antec 1200.
OS: Vista Home Premium 64bit OEM.

I hope to OC this rig soon but just wanted to check in about the CPU temps to make sure everything is alright before I start.

I'm using Real Temp 2.70 to get the temps and Prime 95 v25.6 to load the cores. So far I've had it running the Small FFTs (4 threads) for about 45 mins and the max temps as reported across the cores are: 46/44/42/46.

Please let me know if these temps are acceptable as I'm a total noob to OCing and don't want to risk going ahead before I make sure everything is alright at stock speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2008, 11:50 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Looking good, don't go over 65C, 1.4v vCore, 1.4v VTT (vFSB).
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2008, 11:59 AM
FrankyG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shediac,NB
Posts: 158
Default

I have a Q9550 @ 4Ghz right now stable temps peak at around 50 full load but that on water. The Q9550 as alot of potential I am sure you can bring it to 3.4 ~ 3.6 on air with no voltage change.
__________________
AMD FX9590
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
16 GB DDR3
2x MSI GTX780 Lightning
1200W Antec PSU
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 06:37 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

I'm just figuring everything out about my Q9550 before I start OCing...
Using realtemps 3.00 I get a weird result...39-37-32-32...don't know if it's normal of not.
Seems like there is a few people that experience the same issue...
Does it looks like a "reseating job"???
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 06:56 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Lots of people are given the advice to reseat, and it doesn't change a thing...so Quad owned, please advice!
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 07:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

This delta in temps happens. Yes a reseat may fix it. Sometimes loading the chips evens the temps across all 4 cores.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 07:31 PM
MajorBuzzon's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: St Stephen N.B
Posts: 55

My System Specs

Default

My Q9450 had a bad sensor in core one,on 60 all the time.So i just got my RMA Q9450 from intel and getting almost same Temps as you,getting 34,33,37,37 at idle OC to3.6 on air
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 03:39 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Now, I'm still at stock clock ,encoding a video, and my temps are the following:
48-37-37-40...core zero seems a little off...but core 1 is fine.
As core 0 & 1 are on the same die, you'd think they should run at the same temp?
In task manager, at those temps, I get

core 0 = close to max cpu usage
core 1 = close to max cpu usage (same a 0)
core 2 = 30% load
core 3 = 75% load

so 0 and 1 got the same load, although there is a 12 degrees Celsius discrepancy betwen both cores...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 01:47 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Ok,
I tried a little OC just for kicks...HSF's fan at 2000 RPM, 1.3Vcore, 400FSB (3.4GHZ)
I'm running one instance of prime95 (small tff) and one of OCCT CPU test.

The temps are the following:

0=58
1=47
2=53
3=52

???I assume cores 0 & 1 are on the same dual-core die...but jeez the temps are weird.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 01:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 12
Default

I have a 9450 with the same "problem" - and have tried EVERYTHING to solve it.

Until I heard this little tidbit. Apparently the L caches - or the memory controller for them - (shared cache.. L3 if I remember) are closest to core 0 on the Yorkfield dies and as a result cause it to run hotter. If it makes you feel any better, the hotter it gets, the less the cache temp seems to affect things. Temps are all even by about 65-67C.

I have managed to get my 9450 to hit the thermal limits only once, while I was testing the stock HSF with a minor OC in P95. It was actually core2 that thermalled first (according to realtemp)

Bottom line, IMO, don't worry about it. Lots of people have the same delta in temperatures, lots have tried, no one seems overly bothered. The reality of it is that even if core0 is consistently in the high 50s/low 60s, you're not going to burn it out before you want to upgrade anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes