Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 12:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayDee View Post
I came across that thread at NCIX as well - After I put in an order for a E6600. Too bad that a poor overclock isn't accepted as a vaild RMA reason. For 99% of the buyers (Dell/Gateway/... bulk box buyers) it makes no difference but the OC is a big part of the decision to buy for the other 1%.
Yeah, there are very few venders who will offer to check steppings, and some of those who do will charge a premium for the service.

This used to be a big issue with S939 chips, not sure what the market is like for C2Ds.

This is the kind of service that a local vender can shine at.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 08:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 44
Default

One of the Thermalright series - if NCIX ever decides to get stock. :P

At any rate, I can't possibly see it requiring such an extreme increase in voltage to carry this processor a couple hundred mhz higher. So, I either got really lucky in the batch or those guys in that thread are doing something really wrong.

Last edited by S|nApSE; May 9, 2007 at 08:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 09:08 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Yeah, there are very few venders who will offer to check steppings, and some of those who do will charge a premium for the service.

This used to be a big issue with S939 chips, not sure what the market is like for C2Ds.

This is the kind of service that a local vender can shine at.
Well I have been lucky with my 939 cpu's BUT before I open the packages I ran the stepping's just so I wouldn't get burned. A restocking fee is better than having to flog it on Ebay, of course you run the risk with the replacement.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2007, 11:37 PM
ragenrok's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Drayton Valley, Alberta
Posts: 168

My System Specs

Default

ok, well I finnaly got my case that I have been waiting for about a week now so I can use my new e6600.

Its stepping is L646G510

So far Ive gotten it to 3.32 @ 1.45v

I've run it through a full 3dmark with no error and currently running orthos blend test Priority 9 and cpu temps are holding steady at 55C with my zalman 9700

Running it at 3.4 gave me a BSOD in 3dmark half way through the second CPU test so I'll play wih it more tommorow and see what I can get it to lol.

Last edited by ragenrok; May 11, 2007 at 11:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 07:13 AM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

My new rig arrived yesterday but, unfortunately, I won't have a chance to built till Monday or Tuesday


My batch is L704 A945 Malay. I checked all the links and I didn't see a single "L7" (a 2007 production run I think). From what I've seen the older L6 weeks OC better than the ones later in the year so I hope the L7 breaks that trend. Oh well the proof of the pudding is in the voltage and we'll see what I can get from the L7
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 07:58 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Great news guys! Rag- 55 seems a little high with that voltage and that cooler- maybe the thermal paste just needs to settle. Good news that you were able to break 3GHz though, and without too much juice.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 08:01 AM
ragenrok's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Drayton Valley, Alberta
Posts: 168

My System Specs

Default

check this link out here:

NCIX FORUMS - Recent Steppings - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Process...

2 guys with L7 chips. One even ha a A batch like you and managed 3.2 at stock voltage. Its to bad he never posted his final OC.

Oh and my G510 ran for 8 hours in orthos last night at 3.32 and no crashes.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 05:09 PM
JayDee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for that info ragenrok

Helps me to have a more positive attitude as I look to the build as I've been thinking newer isn't necessarily better when it comes to C2D production weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2007, 09:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default

I have checked out the C2D lists you were good enough to post but I can't seem to find out what week & code my E6400 is. The lists all insist that the info is on the cpu and box and is listed like ..L6xxA***. But the only info I have is...FPO/Batch#... 7639A235 (Pack Date 01/31/07). So I'm guessing the code is A235 but have no clue as to what week 7636 would be???? CPU-Z shows Stepping 6 & Revn B2.
Any ideas??:help:
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2007, 04:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 44
Default

7639A235
Okay, this is a little wierd. Generally it's year, week, batch and some other batching markers. As a result, 76 doesn't make a whole lot of sense. Take a look at the processor itself and see if there's a similar number.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Batch Codes enaberif CPU's and Motherboards 2 February 14, 2008 11:56 AM
Retrieving XSerial Number from Proggy? frosty Troubleshooting 2 December 16, 2007 09:53 AM
PS3 problems abound as second batch to hit shelves in December Gav Gaming 13 August 8, 2007 05:40 AM
P180 + 680i rig number 2 - WC 3.0charlie Water Cooling 10 June 13, 2007 02:37 PM
TechSpot stages Core 2 E4300 vs. E6300 overclocking battle Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 5 January 25, 2007 02:49 PM