Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2008, 07:08 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default mbios...?

Modded ASUS P5Q/Pro/Deluxe/Premium BIOS - XtremeSystems Forums

its very interesting article... is it really safe to use mbois?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2008, 07:15 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,657
Default

Yah? How about you find the thread on the biostar?

Or the fact he nuked his own board with that bios.. or the fact people have nuked their biostar boards cause of him.

Absolutely not recommended.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2008, 07:34 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

do you mean Biostar T Power I45 BIOS thread - XtremeSystems Forums
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2008, 07:45 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,699

My System Specs

Default

I myself wouldn't use a modded bios unless it addressed a specific critical issue (4 sticks mem on the DFI Ultra-D comes to mind) and it had a really good track record. Seems to me I remember that some modded bios' also can't be just flashed back to normal without jumping through a few hoops.

Only recommended if you either really don't care if the hardware dies on you, you have a spare bios chip kicking around, or it does something that you really need.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2008, 08:04 PM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 448
Default

I agree with sswilson and pick a modded bios only for a specific reason. Otherwise, I trust the manufacturer bios more ;)
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2008, 08:08 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

ok... good advices... so i will not use it...

i was just wondering... :whistler:

thank you
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2008, 08:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: BC
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
Modded ASUS P5Q/Pro/Deluxe/Premium BIOS - XtremeSystems Forums

its very interesting article... is it really safe to use mbois?
be careful as he did release one BIOS that bricked some P5Q Pros. He changed too much, started renaming things and it was no good.

I've tried all of his BIOSes and all the official Asus ones on my p5q-e and ended up using his 704m BIOS. That said, I agree you probably should only use the modded ones if you need them. I was trying to find the best one for OCing, plus the P5Q-E has a backup BIOS chip so it's no biggie if I flash a bad BIOS (unless it's super-borked).

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Yah? How about you find the thread on the biostar?

Or the fact he nuked his own board with that bios.. or the fact people have nuked their biostar boards cause of him.

Absolutely not recommended.
To be fair, he got his Biostar only a few days ago, people using modded BIOSes should know they are playing with fire, and this thread is about his P5Q BIOSes not his Biostar ones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ket
its naturally untested as I don't have the TPower yet, so use it at your own risk.
Can't say the guy didn't warn people.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2008, 09:17 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgbc View Post
be careful as he did release one BIOS that bricked some P5Q Pros. He changed too much, started renaming things and it was no good.

I've tried all of his BIOSes and all the official Asus ones on my p5q-e and ended up using his 704m BIOS. That said, I agree you probably should only use the modded ones if you need them. I was trying to find the best one for OCing, plus the P5Q-E has a backup BIOS chip so it's no biggie if I flash a bad BIOS (unless it's super-borked).



To be fair, he got his Biostar only a few days ago, people using modded BIOSes should know they are playing with fire, and this thread is about his P5Q BIOSes not his Biostar ones.



Can't say the guy didn't warn people.
Do you miss the memo he released the bios without even trying it himself?

Thats pretty shoddy work if you ask me.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 12:56 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default

I'm on m1402 on P5Q-E and everything is fine.
But I always wait a couple of days to see peoples reports about his modded BIOS.
For me is useless because I'm not a clocker and I don't have any problems with my setup, but for clockers/benchers might worth a try.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 02:01 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

i dont see the point about modding a bios. I think there is a differance betwween being a hardware geek, and a electical engineer.
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes