Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2008, 08:59 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default How do you update your BIOS?

Ok this my sound stupid but how do you update your BIOS?. I have an ASUS P5Q-E with win XP 32bit sp3 and Intel E8400 Let me know if you need more information that that. :help:
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2008, 09:24 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

do you read the manual? it will tell you...

- download it at asus site > product > download...
- extract the winzip
- put the rom file into your usb or driver
- reboot your computer
- press alt+f2
- open the file
- update it
- wait
- it will tell you that you updated bios but you also will have to re-configure your bios...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2008, 09:25 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
do you read the manual? it will tell you...

- download it at asus site > product > download...
- extract the winzip
- put the rom file into your usb or driver
- reboot your computer
- press alt+f2
- open the file
- update it
- wait
- it will tell you that you updated bios but you also will have to re-configure your bios...
Some people are too nice.

If they actually sat down and read the manual.. SURPRISE! :rtfm:
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2008, 11:14 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

iNSTALL THE aSUS UPDATE SOFTWARE, IT WILL CHECK FOR NEW BIOS'S AND FLASH THEM FROM IN WINDOWS.

OOPS CAPS.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 03:00 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
iNSTALL THE aSUS UPDATE SOFTWARE, IT WILL CHECK FOR NEW BIOS'S AND FLASH THEM FROM IN WINDOWS.

OOPS CAPS.
Please do not do this
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 07:13 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

Agreed.... if there is a flash drive method please use it over the windows flash, or barring that the prefered method would be a floppy flash.

I'll admit to becoming lazy with flashes as my gear gets older, but that's based on not being overly concerned if the motherboard turns into a brick. At the very least... if you must flash your bios, drop back down to default speeds & run memtest + one of the cpu stress tests off of the UBCD ( Ultimate Boot CD - Overview ) to ensure stability prior to flashing.

It needs to be stressed that a bad bios flash is without a doubt the most "popular" method of turning your fancy hardware into a door stop. It should only be done if absolutely necessary, and even then, every possible care should be taken to prevent a bad flash.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 08:33 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I've flashed hundreds of firmware/bios updates from windows, never ever had a bad one. By far the easiest method.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 08:44 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
I've flashed hundreds of firmware/bios updates from windows, never ever had a bad one. By far the easiest method.
So have I, but unlike you I have run into some problems.

First thing is that you have to trust the motherboard manufacturer to get it right.... MSI is famous for using the exact same numerical designation for newer revisions of some of their motherboards, and I've had at least one board turned into a brick when their software flashed the wrong bios to the board.

The other issue with windows flashes is that many folks only think of flashing when they're having problems, and the windows flash is the first thing they turn to without considering that if Windows isn't stable, then a windows flash is the last thing they should be considering.... IMO, it's just too easy to get into the habit of doing a board flash the same as a person might do a software update... not a good idea until a person has done some research into the new bios profile.

That said.... yes, the great majority of windows flashes these days are carried out without any problems. If there is no option for a usb stick flash, that's what I do, but I also understand the risks involved.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 09:03 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Wouldn't a bad/wrong bios brick the board no matter where it was flashed from?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 09:11 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Wouldn't a bad/wrong bios brick the board no matter where it was flashed from?
Yep, but then the "UAC" mentality comes into play. It's too easy to just accept what the software is suggesting without ensuring that it's actually the correct bios. There's also the issue of instability caused by driver conflicts which wouldn't be present flashing directly from the post.

Don't get me wrong... I'm not saying that folks should never flash from windows (that would be hypocrical of me since I do some myself), I just think it's extremely important that they understand (and accept) the risks they are taking.

Flashing from outside of any OS removes a lot of possible issues with the flashing process.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes