Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2007, 06:15 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Actually I saw that, and it's making me much more hopeful about my board :)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2007, 01:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 16
Default

HiPro over on xtremesystems has got his abit in9 aw32 up to 400 MHz with a retail qx6700.
The board is heavily modded. You need a gtl reference voltage mod which the 965's support but not the 680's.
I'm sure evga's solution will be a new board revision. But, they will offer free replacements for those that have an old one. (my prediction)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2007, 03:59 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

That's going to hurt 'em- I imagine they're trying everything they can to avoid that, although, I guess the'll just refurbish and resell the boards sent in.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2007, 08:34 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I know this is pretty much common knowledge by now, butevga is doing a board-swap for people with quad cores-I entered mine for an rma, so that I am able to upgrade to a quad in the future- not sure if they'll let me since I registered as having an e6400, but I would think that they'd have to offer it to everyone despite what they say. Unfortuneatly they are only cross shipping to the US, Canada and Europe must do a standard rma, but I have a feeling that this might not be written in stone- the quad overclocking results on ths RB board are quite favorable so far.

http://www.evga.com/community/messag...69&whichpage=1
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2007, 11:01 AM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Interesting. Honestly I still wouldn't expect this board to be all that great. My experience with it was lacklustre...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2007, 11:09 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

People in that thread seem to be doing ok, but I guess it will take more time to see how it stands up to the 965's quad core performance-- The hardware fix also apparently cures the ps2 issue.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2007, 02:39 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yeah I had heard that as well. I actually still have my store credit, so it's not like I couldn't re-buy the board once the new revision hits....
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2007, 07:02 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

It looks like evga is now offering free cross shipping to european/uk and (I assume) canadian customers for the trade-in.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2007, 08:49 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I just initiated my RMa for the new 680i revision (t1) - So I'll have a replacement for my perfectly good board just in time to install my watercooling on it . I figured I'd swap because the new board clears up ps2 issues, and allegedly fixes the memory issues which I'm not experiencing now, but I worry I might if I upgrade. (and I hope to have a quad-core someday)

I hope there are no performance trade-offs for this fix.....
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2007, 10:34 PM
Deathspawner's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 204
Default

What's the max FSB that's been hit on the "good" boards? I haven't been able to go beyond 1410FSB on mine (though I didn't try -that- hard), so I am wondering if I have a problematic board as well.
__________________
Techgage.com | Editor in Chief

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.20GHz, ASUS P5K Premium WiFi-AP, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, EVGA GTX 285 1024MB
Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Pioneer 22x ODD, Corsair 1000HX, Thermalright Ultra-120, CM Storm Sniper
Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Ultrasone PRO 750, Gentoo Linux (KDE 4.4, 2.6.32 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter

Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: New EVGA 680i SLI Motherboard S775 KGB Buy/Sell & Trade 10 March 9, 2008 10:03 PM
DFI nForce 680i LT-T2R Motherboard @ Madshrimps SKYMTL Reviews & Articles from the Web 1 July 20, 2007 01:53 PM
Ram overclocking with 680i and QX6700 Friedchicken Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 May 31, 2007 10:43 AM
Kentsfield and the 680i advice sizerkozak Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 February 26, 2007 02:37 PM
Kentsfield Sub-Zero OVERCLOCKING and Geforce 8800 GTX Benches! Misoprostol CPU's and Motherboards 22 February 14, 2007 01:07 AM