Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2007, 01:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Default Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe RAM underclocking

Hi first post. First time builder.
Was getting ready to order this mobo Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe. I am looking threw the manual now. The ram freq. can only be set to Auto or predefined settings (DDR2 400-DDR2 800). Is there some way around this.

Is is not to plan to get the ram running at the sam frequency as the CPU. So if I am able to get the bus speed on the CPU to say 240mhz how would I match the ram which run's at 400mhz (DDR2 800)


The reason I ask I am looking for ram to add to this board aswell.

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2007, 01:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

You would select a lower multiplier for your memories rated speed (ddr 667 vice ddr 800 etc....) and the memory would ramp up with your increases of HTT (fsb).

It seems strange to me that they would only offer 3 mem dividers for a board that's being touted as an "Overclocker's Dream", I'd almost bet that more recent versions of the bios offer more dividers to get you closer to the max your mem will do.

With this in mind though.... the higher that your mem is able to work at, the easier it is going to be to find a good match between your cpu OC and your mem OC.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2007, 03:45 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,527

My System Specs

Default

Well I can state that my board which is supposed to be the overclockers dream seems to have horrid memory dividers as well. I hope I can prove myself wrong after I finish learning how to setup this dam bios.........
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2007, 03:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
Well I can state that my board which is supposed to be the overclockers dream seems to have horrid memory dividers as well. I hope I can prove myself wrong after I finish learning how to setup this dam bios.........
Did you check out T-Mod's bootable bios flash CD over at DIY-Street (Formerly DFI-Street) to see if your mobo is included?

If it is, I can almost guarantee modded bios goodness with tons of mem dividers....... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2007, 05:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Default

So if I can up the FSB to 266mhz and reduce my ram my DDR2 800 to DDR2 533 speed from the Bios every thing will be sweet? Is this too much FSB bus to ask for from stock cooling?

If I could only get say 250mhz stable on the FSB are there any sofware utilities I could use to lower the ram frequency by 16 mhz?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2007, 05:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrs2000 View Post
So if I can up the FSB to 266mhz and reduce my ram my DDR2 800 to DDR2 533 speed from the Bios every thing will be sweet? Is this too much FSB bus to ask for from stock cooling?

If I could only get say 250mhz stable on the FSB are there any sofware utilities I could use to lower the ram frequency by 16 mhz?
That's the basic idea for your memory, but I wouldn't bother with software OC, if you end up 16 mhz below DDR2 800 speeds it won't make that big of a difference.

As far as your ability to OC on stock cooling goes, you never really know until you try. Just keep an eye on the temps as you ramp up, and don't forget to adjust your ht to keep it within limits as well.

Let us know how you make out.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 05:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Well got all the parts assembled. It went very smooth, without any troubles.
Now for the overclock part I can not get further than 249 mhz front side bus/htt. I think that it is because of the motherboard. Can anyone confirm this. Here are some pics fr. CPU-Z
Photo Sharing by MyPhotoAlbum.com :: MyPhotoAlbum :: Untitled Album
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 05:53 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried increasing voltages yet?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 05:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Did you try a small v-core bump?

Both my S754 & S939 procs seemed to start needing vcore above 240. (There's probably a setting for % above vcore, try the first one which is probably 3%).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 06:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Default

I could only raise the FSB to 225 mhz before I had to up the voltage. At 249 mhz I had to up the voltage to 1.485. I can take it to 1.55 plus but still wil not go into windows.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS P5N32-SLI Deluxe Rapid-X Buy/Sell & Trade 10 March 9, 2008 03:48 PM
Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe/WiFi-AP chibi_man CPU's and Motherboards 20 February 4, 2008 04:15 PM
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe bios 1302 Eagle Eye Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 January 14, 2008 02:18 AM
Sata Problem on Asus P5K-Deluxe WIFI/AP neurobashing CPU's and Motherboards 1 August 14, 2007 08:50 PM
ASUS P5K Deluxe WiFi-AP review by TechGage Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 June 16, 2007 10:25 AM