Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 09:24 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default Is Q6600 overkill for my needs?

I'm currently using a Q6600 at stock, and it is more than what i need at the moment,
i do light gaming, and have a spare e2180, and i think i might sell both and buy an e5200 as it runs cooler and sucks up less energy.

All i do is COD4 atlantica online, CSS, CS 1.6, and SC 2 when it comes out.
I use mainly for web browsing though.
For gaming i use 9800GTX+ which should handle most things.
Also for CPU cooler i have a TRUE on the way ( Thanks encorp! ) .
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 09:26 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,608
Default

Way overkill :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 11:30 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

A quadcore is overkill for alot of users and just like them, its overkill for you as well.
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 11:41 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayen View Post
I'm currently using a Q6600 at stock, and it is more than what i need at the moment,
i do light gaming, and have a spare e2180, and i think i might sell both and buy an e5200 as it runs cooler and sucks up less energy.

All i do is COD4 atlantica online, CSS, CS 1.6, and SC 2 when it comes out.
I use mainly for web browsing though.
For gaming i use 9800GTX+ which should handle most things.
Also for CPU cooler i have a TRUE on the way ( Thanks encorp! ) .
Sounds like a good plan. Either an E5200 or E7200.. i wouldn't suggest going below the 5200 though.. the 9800GTX+ needs some CPU power to feed it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 06:50 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,939

My System Specs

Default

Yeah sell both and buy a decent dual core 45nm. You wont see a difference in performance.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 07:26 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

the new petium 5200 is like 100 $ ? You can easily get this by selling your cpu.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 07:48 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,507

My System Specs

Default

I would keep the Quad and just run with speedstep enabled and that will cut the power needs down. The Q6600 will have a longer lifespan of usefulness than any dual-core. Eventually it will be worth having a quad in a normal PC.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 08:22 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

I'd get a nice dual core if I were you; that true will keep it super chilly.

I use quad cores because I multi task like a machine; I always prefer more tasking performance over higher clocks so I build my systems with high amounts of memory and as many (4) cores as I can. I like to be able to do whatever I want; all at once.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 08:40 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,626

My System Specs

Default

Run F@H then it wouldn't be overkill anymore.

If you really want to sell it, sell both then get a E7200 and overclock it to around 3.8Ghz. Most E7200 can hit 3.6Ghz with ease.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 01:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

why not just keep the 6600,save some money ....are dual core intel's eg:5200,7200,even 8400 any better than Q6600..if not OC'n anything..
i thought quad would be better,or q6600 oc'd to 3ghz better than the duals listed above?
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes