Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 09:24 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 706

My System Specs

Default Is Q6600 overkill for my needs?

I'm currently using a Q6600 at stock, and it is more than what i need at the moment,
i do light gaming, and have a spare e2180, and i think i might sell both and buy an e5200 as it runs cooler and sucks up less energy.

All i do is COD4 atlantica online, CSS, CS 1.6, and SC 2 when it comes out.
I use mainly for web browsing though.
For gaming i use 9800GTX+ which should handle most things.
Also for CPU cooler i have a TRUE on the way ( Thanks encorp! ) .
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 09:26 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,058
Default

Way overkill :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 11:30 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 423
Default

A quadcore is overkill for alot of users and just like them, its overkill for you as well.
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2008, 11:41 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayen View Post
I'm currently using a Q6600 at stock, and it is more than what i need at the moment,
i do light gaming, and have a spare e2180, and i think i might sell both and buy an e5200 as it runs cooler and sucks up less energy.

All i do is COD4 atlantica online, CSS, CS 1.6, and SC 2 when it comes out.
I use mainly for web browsing though.
For gaming i use 9800GTX+ which should handle most things.
Also for CPU cooler i have a TRUE on the way ( Thanks encorp! ) .
Sounds like a good plan. Either an E5200 or E7200.. i wouldn't suggest going below the 5200 though.. the 9800GTX+ needs some CPU power to feed it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 06:50 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 4,101

My System Specs

Default

Yeah sell both and buy a decent dual core 45nm. You wont see a difference in performance.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 07:26 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

the new petium 5200 is like 100 $ ? You can easily get this by selling your cpu.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 07:48 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,768

My System Specs

Default

I would keep the Quad and just run with speedstep enabled and that will cut the power needs down. The Q6600 will have a longer lifespan of usefulness than any dual-core. Eventually it will be worth having a quad in a normal PC.
__________________
DAILY: MSI 970 Gaming/FX6300/16GB Corsair DDR3/ASUS CU II R9 270 2GB/128GB SSD+750GB HDD+2TB HDD

HTPC: Dell 960 SFF Q9550/Corsair 8GB/X4500HD/128GB SSD

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 08:22 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,428
Default

I'd get a nice dual core if I were you; that true will keep it super chilly.

I use quad cores because I multi task like a machine; I always prefer more tasking performance over higher clocks so I build my systems with high amounts of memory and as many (4) cores as I can. I like to be able to do whatever I want; all at once.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 08:40 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,761

My System Specs

Default

Run F@H then it wouldn't be overkill anymore.

If you really want to sell it, sell both then get a E7200 and overclock it to around 3.8Ghz. Most E7200 can hit 3.6Ghz with ease.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 01:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mission
Posts: 1,123

My System Specs

Default

why not just keep the 6600,save some money ....are dual core intel's eg:5200,7200,even 8400 any better than Q6600..if not OC'n anything..
i thought quad would be better,or q6600 oc'd to 3ghz better than the duals listed above?
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes