Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2008, 04:10 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default

@ geo - i do run F@H but on GPU client.
I think i might just leave in the Q6600,kinda lazy to get rid of it, but all that's left is to get rid of the e2180.
Also is the intel speedstep enabled by default - as in it lowers my multi to 6.0 right?
Anyways i'm not done with my PC yet - I got a harddrive (old maxtor IDE...manufactured in 2000 LOL ) that's louder than all fans on my antec 900 on high....
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 07:17 PM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

If you ever have to encode video, like I'm doing now to fix a broken video file, you'll be glad you have a quad.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 07:33 PM
Menello's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 81
Default

If you want to be ready for the future, you may as well keep the Quad.

As for when that future comes... who knows?
__________________
The box:
Mobo: eVGA NF66 nForce 650i Ultra SPP
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.03GHz
RAM: 1x2GB
OCZ DDR2-800 PC2-6400
+ 2x2GB Crucial DDR2-800 PC2-6400
= 6GB RAM (finally more than 2GB!)
GPU: XFX GeForce9800GTX+
HDDs: 500 Seagate, 640 GB WD Caviar Black
PSU: CoolerMaster 600W
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 07:48 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default

Encoding video faster on quads?
Because, yes i do encode videos quite often... i'm fond of the divx format...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 08:06 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Open up your task manager, then do some encoding. Afterwards, check out the usage of your four cores. If they're averaging over %50, you're technically benefiting from that Quad. And it might not hurt to keep that E2180 around, in case you ever have to jump start a socket 775 board with an early BIOS that doesn't like newer processors.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 09:20 AM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

I'm re-encoding a 1gig movie that got corrupted somehow. My CPU usage hovers around 80%+ over my 4 cores, and it still estimates to take about 6-7 hours to complete. I can't imagine how long it would take on a dual core...
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 10:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenewguy001 View Post
I'm re-encoding a 1gig movie that got corrupted somehow. My CPU usage hovers around 80%+ over my 4 cores, and it still estimates to take about 6-7 hours to complete. I can't imagine how long it would take on a dual core...
holy crap dude!!! get some better software, i can re-encode an entire dvd in 30 - 40 mins with my quad.

KEEP your quad. video encoding is one of the few things that truely benifit from multi threading
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 10:36 AM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

Seems redundant though to sell a processor like the Q6600 which probably cost $300-$400 when you bought it ...depending on how long ago that was....to sell it used you would likely get only $150 if your lucky or you find a sucker to buy it for more...I would keep it, you already have it and it's working well if your concerned about power under clock it or use many of the power save options out their. I would hold onto your Q6600 though it's a great CPU and their is no such thing as "CPU overkill" even if you don't use all of it...it's still fast.
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 10:41 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Open up your task manager, then do some encoding. Afterwards, check out the usage of your four cores. If they're averaging over %50, you're technically benefiting from that Quad. And it might not hurt to keep that E2180 around, in case you ever have to jump start a socket 775 board with an early BIOS that doesn't like newer processors.
If they are using all 4 cores at all, you are benefiting. Scheduling those tasks over 2 cores involves timeslicing and additional overhead, wait cycles.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 11:07 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Agreed, but it's still a little vague at that point. If you were only getting %10 usage across four cores, it'd be a little harder to justify the extra two cores. For example, CoD4 uses all four cores on my machine, but the usage is fairly minimal across three of the cores, which is why you won't see me recommending a quad to get better frame-rates in that particular game. Once you exceed the %50 mark on all four cores, there's absolutely no question that the quad-core is working the way it's designed for.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes