Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 01:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 7
Question Simple Question

I just saw a CPU with a comment saying the person who had bought it had several in his MOBO. I have not built a comp in awhile but just how many CPU's can you have now? and is that general or specific to MOBO's?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 01:19 AM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scutum_Deus View Post
I just saw a CPU with a comment saying the person who had bought it had several in his MOBO. I have not built a comp in awhile but just how many CPU's can you have now? and is that general or specific to MOBO's?
Most motherboards use 1 cpu. Motherboards that use more then 1 cpu are server motherboards.
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 01:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 7
Default

Ah, that makes tons of sense. appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 01:22 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Would have to see the comment to understand the context. There are motherboards with multiple CPU sockets, but they're almost always server-type. On the other hand, virtually all desktop processors incorporate multiple cores (usually either two or four), each core technically being an independent CPU onto itself. Or, another possibility is that the person keeps smoking their processors and buying new ones to replace them. Again, would have to see the context of the statement.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 01:26 AM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Dual Cpu support for server motherboards is more common, but here is an example of one with four cpu slots.

Newegg.com - TYAN S4980G2NR Quad 1207(F) NVIDIA nForce Professional 3600 Extended ATX Server Motherboard - Server Motherboards
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 01:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 7
Default

it was on this CPU Intel Core2 Extreme QX9775 3.2GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 771 150W Quad-Core Processor - Retail
Comment was "Overclockers Dream, This processor is sooooo easy to overclock. I have 2 of them in my Beastmaster Skulltrail system."

its listed under desktop CPU's as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 01:33 AM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scutum_Deus View Post
it was on this CPU Intel Core2 Extreme QX9775 3.2GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 771 150W Quad-Core Processor - Retail
Comment was "Overclockers Dream, This processor is sooooo easy to overclock. I have 2 of them in my Beastmaster Skulltrail system."

its listed under desktop CPU's as well.
Skulltrail Motherboards are esentially modified server motherboards designed for a desktop system. It is for very high-end hardware enthusiasts who want 2 quad core cpus in a desktop system.

Here you can get an idea of what a mobo for a Skulltrail system looks like:
Intel Skulltrail Unleashed: Core 2 Extreme QX9775 x 2 - HotHardware
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 01:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 7
Default

I c. Thanks for the information, that system just seems like overkill, would anything ever tap that? hmm, anyway. again thanks. I am sure I will come up with a whole lot of stupid questions here in the next few months, gotta re-learn everything about comps.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 06:31 AM
perfecto's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scutum_Deus View Post
I c. Thanks for the information, that system just seems like overkill, would anything ever tap that?
Of course it will - that's the nature of the beast. The computer industry moves fast! :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes