Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 06:46 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

As you can see in my Sig, I have a pretty big jump in Voltage to get stable (Prime95) going from 3.82 to 4.05
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 06:49 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
My intent wasn't to get into a "my E8400 clocks at xxGhz with only xxVoltage" scenario. I KNOW what voltage it takes to get MY E8400 stable...
great, we were simply commenting on some poor information that came out of the thread that is completely relevant and corrected it...it's called discussion relax
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 07:03 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
My intent wasn't to get into a "my E8400 clocks at xxGhz with only xxVoltage" scenario. I KNOW what voltage it takes to get MY E8400 stable at 4.05Ghz (I know all E8400's are different, in fact I know their are some folks that need 1.4v to get stable below 4.05Ghz) I wanted to know if anyone has had any issues running their E8400's at vCore 1.45v (BIOS) 1.39v (under load).

Thanks in advance
If you have it set to 1.45v in bios and it drops to 1.39v under load .. theres other issues somewhere.

Thats a insane amount of vdroop
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 07:13 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Ive run my xeon at 1.45v for long periods and it is fine
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 08:38 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Eldonko....all I was looking for! I don't believe the combination VDroop and vDrop (under load) from 1.45v to 1.39v is "insane", as a matter of fact this seems par for the norm when looking at any vDroop and vDrop. What is the s_hits, is that my particular E8400 requires 1.45v set in BIOS to get my system stable @ 4.05v.....
btw.....I'm always relaxed!!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 08:50 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
If you have it set to 1.45v in bios and it drops to 1.39v under load .. theres other issues somewhere.

Thats a insane amount of vdroop
I'm curious......what issues would you be referring to? I have posted my desktop pics of all items in the past, including HWMonitor showing my VCore while under load and there was no immediate concern at that time..........?
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 09:09 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

See pic below, with 1.45v set in BIOS (version P04)

Name:  untitled.jpg
Views: 97
Size:  150.6 KB

Sorry if the numbers are not very legible....under load is 1.389v
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 09:29 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

Nah, you're fine. What's your idle voltage showing as under CPU-Z? The last 4 boards I've had have shown an idle voltage less than BIOS setting. That's vDrop. I think enaberif thought you were drooping from 1.45 idle to 1.39 load, which is a large variance, although my P35-DS3L did that too.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 10:02 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

When I set vCore in Bios to 1.45v ....no load is 1.424v (Cpuz).....under load (HW Monitor is 1.389v - 1.393v)
Thats what i thought too....should have been a bit clearer....anyhow, sounds as though 1.45v in BIOS is ok and likely won't fry anything, so will go with it for awhile, hell I like the speed of 4.05GHZ!
I'm almost thinking of purchasing a new E8400 with the new Stepping...and keep it in the closet in case this one does go "kaput"...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 09:20 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

That's normal man, dont worry about it. Some boards have more droop than others.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes