Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Computer & Electronics Hot Deals

    



 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 02:41 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default ssd 30gb this is a good deal

from what i can tell this is a indilinx gotten better http://ncix.com/products/index.php?s...y&promoid=1043
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 02:49 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,254
Default

Yup, its a Indi drive. IIRC it also ships with 34NM NAND....but w/out one to tear apart that is all conjecture ;)

Pretty good price too. Maybe before dieing an early death the SSDNow V 40GB did some good!
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 03:05 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

ya no kidding. does the intel 40gb ssd come with trim or not? just wondering what Intel is doing shooting them self's in the foot again are they
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 03:40 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,254
Default

Thats what seals the deal for me Gingerbee. The Intel branded Intel 40GB'er HAS Trim. Seems awfully suspicious doesn't it that Kingston and Intel couldn't "negotiate" a settlement and get the TRIM enabling firmware onto the SSDNow V 40GB.
Intel is not high on my list of recommendations right now over this fiasco. Damn shame to as I REALLY liked the SSDnow V 40.
Best owners of the Kingston 40 can do is either do "Tony-TRIM" or mod the firmware to allow TRIM (and void their warranty). My big question is....what happens to owners of SSDnow 40's who have to RMA their drive after Kingston runs out of stock? What will the replacement be? The V 64 or other JM based drives? Cant see that going over large....same goes for sending in a 40 and getting a Toshiba based 30 back!
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2010, 04:34 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

very good point i didn't think about the ram factor at all. this could get ugly bad move Intel
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 07:45 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

even cheaper this weekend
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 09:11 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

not as good as a deal as the 60 giger last weekend though :P
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 09:12 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston BC
Posts: 413
Thumbs up

69.99 after rebate, that deserves a bump
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 10:14 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Shore Montreal
Posts: 1,945
Default

80$ after shipping, taxes and rebate, not bad. However still too much for me, waiting for price to drop to 1$/gb or less before I bite
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 02:49 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

Ooohhh shiny :P
__________________

 


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good deal? feerof CPU's and Motherboards 8 November 8, 2009 09:48 PM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD quikgp Buy/Sell & Trade 8 July 2, 2009 06:35 AM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD, OCZ 3GB Triple Channel RAM Dave510 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 May 25, 2009 03:58 PM