Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Computer & Electronics Hot Deals

    
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 12:40 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,054
Default 500' Spools of Cat 5 for $25

Cat. 5E 500' cable | Network Cable | TheSource.ca

$25 for 500 feet of cat 5e cabling. Shipping is 4.99 regardless of the amount. I just ordered 4 spools shipping was still only 4.99
__________________
and now for something completely different

  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 12:45 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 337
Default

lol what on earth would you need 2000' of cat 5 for?
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 12:46 PM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

nice deal i guess.

would buy this if i needed 500 feet of cable tho.
__________________


  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 01:01 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,054
Default

1. I shared the shipping with a friend so it's only a 1000".
2. It's not like cat5e goes bad
3. When i buy my house (sometime before the end of humanity) i want to wire each room up with network access.
__________________
and now for something completely different

  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 01:16 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,587
Default

Man, that is a Costco-like quantity.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 01:26 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Man, that is a Costco-like quantity.
Nah costco would be something crazy like.
5000" for 250 bucks :D
__________________
and now for something completely different

  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 01:41 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,689

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, doesn't say whether it's stranded or solid core wire.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 01:47 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,054
Default

Just but i just checked again on the site they list it having a Fire rating of FT-4. Which means it can be used as in wall cable.
__________________
and now for something completely different

  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 02:15 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

You can never have too much cat5 lol. Nice find.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 03:19 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,967
Default

Not too bad, nothing crazy though. Network cable is dirt cheap.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
i5 4690K @ 4.5GHZ
SLI GTX 670 FTW
8GB GSkill Ripjaws X 2133MHZ CL10
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 240GB Patriot Blaze SSD RAID0 :)
Lenovo P24q 24" IPS 2560x1440

Benq W1070 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block x 2, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
 


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cat chewed my new Sen pc350! Technokat Audio 11 June 30, 2009 12:51 PM
CompizFusion scared my cat solaris10 Off Topic 8 June 9, 2009 12:58 PM
Cat 9.1 Enables 4870X2 Folding on both cores LCB001 HardwareCanucks [email protected] Team 19 January 30, 2009 10:06 PM
ATI CAT 8.9 Giant Pile of D1(|{5 ?????? cwestwell Video Cards 15 October 14, 2008 09:47 PM
$500 PC For Sister geokilla New Builds 12 August 15, 2008 12:20 PM