Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 8, 2008, 09:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default NZXT Whisper

Anyone seen this case before? Its suppose to come out this month.

Link: NZXT. Products.

Do you think it would be worth switching over from a CM690? Since I leave my computer on at night and its in my room, I perfer a silent computer.
Old September 8, 2008, 09:35 PM
F@H

My System Specs

An Antec P182 with some sound foam would do the same thing.
Old September 8, 2008, 10:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Yeah, but the Whisper costs less than an Antec P180, plus the cost of sound dampening.
Old September 8, 2008, 10:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Ugh, as an audio engineer I cringe when I see things like that egg carton foam being sold as 'sound dampening'. Long story short, foam like that will only dampen certain frequencies. The Antec P series cases are actually better because I think all but I'm certain at least the P182/180 both layer aluminum and plastic in the case, which to a degree will dampen a broader range of frequencies than the useless egg carton foam that is in that NZXT case. That's just low density packing foam.

When you see foam in recording studios it isn't there to absorb sound energy across the board. It's specifically there to capture specific frequencies that build up due to the dimensions of the room. There is NO foam solution you can put inside a case that will properly dampen sound. It just goes against physics. All foam in a case does is insulate HEAT.