Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 08:35 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,905
Default problem with p150 case...

It is a very nice case that I intend to buy, but I have a dilemma.
If you read the review witch is below the technical specifications you will see that a lot of people have problem with the power supply. Now, a guy told me that Antec fixed that problem and there is nothing to worry about, but I don't know what to do.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 08:47 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

What exactly are you putting in this case? Cause most of the components/parts are pretty power hungry today. A 430 watt psu might be able to power some of the new machines today but it would have to be a very good quality psu. Skymtl would be the person to answer your question more accurately though . Post your specific parts list... it will help
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 08:50 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,905
Default

ASUS AMD Socket AM2 Motherboard M2N-E, nForce 570 Chipset
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4600+ Socket AM2 Processor 2.4Ghz 64bit
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 16MB CACHE 320GB SATA2
OCZ Platinum EL XTC PC2-6400 1GB 2X512 DDR2 CL4-5-4-15 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit
ASUS Radeon X1950 Pro 581MHZ 256MB 1.4GHZ GDDR3
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy
LG GSA-H50N DVD+RW 18X8X16 DVD-RW
Freezer64 pro for the cpu
Logitech S200 2.1 3PC 30W Speaker System

there you go...
The power supply is Antec Neohe
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 09:13 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

If it's the 430 watt one...Imo it's not gonna cut it:(. Especially when it gets put under load. Might boot and surf net things like that but if you fire up a game I think the Psu will crap out on you, but again that is just my opinion...Sky knows alot more about psu's than me .
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 09:17 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,905
Default

it seems like every case that I like and I want to buy comes with a power supply that sucks..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 09:27 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
it seems like every case that I like and I want to buy comes with a power supply that sucks..
That's why most people who build their own computers on a regular basis almost never get a case with an included Psu cause they generally suck lol. Not a lot of included psu's are any good... but there are some
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 09:51 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdn_Madrach View Post
That's why most people who build their own computers on a regular basis almost never get a case with an included Psu cause they generally suck lol. Not a lot of included psu's are any good... but there are some
Well said! Get a good cheap case such as mine http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...e=COOLERMASTER and get a good PSU such as this one : http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...ufacture=HIPER

That was my previous one and i loved it! And it's modular
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 09:56 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,564

My System Specs

Default

Recommended PSU for a 1950pro is 30A on the 12V line.

If I recall correctly it's between 8 & 11A draw all by itself.

I replaced my 520W 28A OCZ when I picked up mine because so many folks were having problems with underpowered PSUs.

It might have powered it, but I didn't want to take a chance on damaging my system through overheating. (The VRMs on both the vid card and the mobo heat up because they're trying to clean up the dirty power put out by a PSU pushed beyond its limits).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 10:15 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Recommended PSU for a 1950pro is 30A on the 12V line.

If I recall correctly it's between 8 & 11A draw all by itself.

I replaced my 520W 28A OCZ when I picked up mine because so many folks were having problems with underpowered PSUs.

It might have powered it, but I didn't want to take a chance on damaging my system through overheating. (The VRMs on both the vid card and the mobo heat up because they're trying to clean up the dirty power put out by a PSU pushed beyond its limits).
So you could actually overheat by having inadequite Psu.... that's good info Thanks Wilson. That's why I like this forum... I've probably learned as much since I've been a member as I knew all together before being a member....hmmm if that makes sense..... oh I see it's past dinner... nap time lol
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2007, 12:36 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,905
Default

i'm thinking of buying a raidmax sagitta + ocz gamexstream 600w...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Little problem. belgolas HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 February 9, 2008 09:05 PM
DVD problem bobletman Storage 2 January 27, 2008 11:10 AM
FTP setup problem Phredd Smytthe Networking 35 August 18, 2007 09:56 AM
A+ Case Black Pearl WCR Edition ATX Case Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 June 19, 2007 09:28 AM
problem... omgwtf Troubleshooting 35 May 15, 2007 08:06 PM