Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2013, 11:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default Fractal Design Arc Midi r2 case feet

I know this might be a silly question but I'm seriously considering buying the Fractal Design Arc Midi r2 case, with price beat guarantee I can get one for $70.. not bad at all, but I have limited space... Please, If anyone here has this case can you tell me the distance between the front to rear case feet without the case tipping or falling off a ledge it needs to be 16 1/2" >O----------------O<
__________________
Intel Core i5-750 2.66Ghz @ 4Ghz, ASUS P7P55D-E Pro, 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws cas7, WDC 1Tb WD1001FALS, WDC 640Gb WD6400AAKS, OCZ Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce 60GB, GIGABYTE Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5, Corsair Hydro H70, LG GH24NS50 DVD 24x Burner, Antec Eleven Hundred, Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W, Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64

http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...osmond/1-1.jpg
http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...benchmarks.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2013, 08:09 AM
crowTrobot's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

I got one at home. I can measure it for you when I go home for lunch. Hopefully I remember, if not I'll post it tonight. lol
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2013, 08:38 AM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

14.5" Absolute minimum without falling off front or back, 15" to be safe. 15.5" in the orientation you drew. Can take a pic real quick for you with a tape measure if you'd like
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2013, 12:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Birk View Post
14.5" Absolute minimum without falling off front or back, 15" to be safe. 15.5" in the orientation you drew. Can take a pic real quick for you with a tape measure if you'd like
15.5" is fine, tape shot would still be good lol
__________________
Intel Core i5-750 2.66Ghz @ 4Ghz, ASUS P7P55D-E Pro, 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws cas7, WDC 1Tb WD1001FALS, WDC 640Gb WD6400AAKS, OCZ Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce 60GB, GIGABYTE Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5, Corsair Hydro H70, LG GH24NS50 DVD 24x Burner, Antec Eleven Hundred, Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W, Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64

http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...osmond/1-1.jpg
http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...benchmarks.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2013, 01:38 PM
crowTrobot's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

Yep it's 15.5"/39.5cm
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2013, 05:46 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 68
Default

One more question regarding this case, the hard drive cages the lower one has 3 hd bays, the upper one has 5, is it possible to swap locations on the cages? In all the reviews I see people removing the top one only, and moving the lower one into a further back position, however I really don't want my ssd's on the back of the motherboard tray I would rather have it in one of the cages but I have 3 hard drives and 2 ssd's. Can anyone confirm that the plastic pieces can be moved from one cage to the other and allow only the larger cage to be installed in the bottom of the case.
__________________
Intel Core i5-750 2.66Ghz @ 4Ghz, ASUS P7P55D-E Pro, 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws cas7, WDC 1Tb WD1001FALS, WDC 640Gb WD6400AAKS, OCZ Vertex 2 Extended Sandforce 60GB, GIGABYTE Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5, Corsair Hydro H70, LG GH24NS50 DVD 24x Burner, Antec Eleven Hundred, Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W, Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64

http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...osmond/1-1.jpg
http://i571.photobucket.com/albums/s...benchmarks.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2013, 09:18 AM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

The bottom cage doesn't sit on a plastic thing it is screwed directly to the case. I will confirm in a little bit but from what i've been able to tell the screw spacing for the plastic bracket between the 2 cages shares the same screw configuration as the bottom cage which would allow it to also be screwed into the bottom of the case.

so short answer is i'm 75% sure you can do it but I'll let you know this afternoon and I'll actually DO it to make sure.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2013, 06:41 PM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 538

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosmond View Post
One more question regarding this case, the hard drive cages the lower one has 3 hd bays, the upper one has 5, is it possible to swap locations on the cages? In all the reviews I see people removing the top one only, and moving the lower one into a further back position, however I really don't want my ssd's on the back of the motherboard tray I would rather have it in one of the cages but I have 3 hard drives and 2 ssd's. Can anyone confirm that the plastic pieces can be moved from one cage to the other and allow only the larger cage to be installed in the bottom of the case.
The plastic pieces can most definitely be moved from cage-to-cage, but the bottom cage has a number of extra screws that go in the floor of the case, the motherboard tray, and has an L-bracket stabilizing it to the front panel.

So you'll likely need to get your drill bit out to replicate some of these holes in the larger drive cage in order to get it to swap in and be solid.

This is all from memory but I remember considering this when I had the case.

It's still an awesome case though.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] NEED GONE ASAP!!! Antec P280 (WHITE - BNIB) Dimitry49 Buy/Sell & Trade 17 July 2, 2014 06:53 AM
Fractal Design Arc Midi Tower Case Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Cases 8 February 29, 2012 11:51 PM
Fractal Design's new "Arc" Midi Tower case review Mnpctech Cases 7 September 30, 2011 06:17 AM
Fractal Design ARC Midi Now Available Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 8 July 12, 2011 01:18 AM