Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 09:04 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia, USA!
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default Advantage of "upside down" power supply?

Same as title, what are the advantages/disadvantages for having the fan on the bottom for a bottom mounted psu?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 09:22 AM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default

If your case is bottom mounted and has a intake vent on the bottom then it has the option to draw fresh air right into the power supply. The advantage is your large fan will spin at lower rpms to keep the power supply cool because it should be drawing in cooler air then if it was coming from in the case. Just make sure your vent has a filter, or make one.... and raise your case even just a few inches off the floor to limit the amount of dust bunnies that move in and make your case home.

If it does not have a filter and you don't want to make one, then I would suggest installing so it uses case air. Or else in a month you will have lost any advantage by the layer of dust caked onto the heat sinks in your power supply.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 09:47 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

+1 bluebyte
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 10:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia, USA!
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default

Okay thanks, I have been modding my antec 900 and it seems like this would help with cable management, I'm going to go ahead, cut a hole and add a dust filter when I get home.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 10:22 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Genius Jr. View Post
Okay thanks, I have been modding my antec 900 and it seems like this would help with cable management, I'm going to go ahead, cut a hole and add a dust filter when I get home.
Buy a new case. Nothing you do to that thing will make it any better
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 11:39 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

The only disadvantage I can think of (and it's a stretch) is the fact that on an older case you're removing some of the case airflow.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 11:47 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,120

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Buy a new case. Nothing you do to that thing will make it any better
Any case can have good cable managment if you got the patience, tools, and time.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 11:56 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia, USA!
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Any case can have good cable managment if you got the patience, tools, and time.
I've got patience and time lol. I've got it pretty good so far, hard d drives turned around,a couple more holes cut, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 12:35 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Any case can have good cable managment if you got the patience, tools, and time.
something is missing from the list ;

Lowfat skill
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 01:23 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,120

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by botat29 View Post
something is missing from the list ;

Lowfat skill
I have no skills. Just patience and obsessiveness.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"BF3.3" Level 10 GT Case Mod is "Locked and Loaded" Mnpctech Cases 2 July 12, 2012 01:18 PM
How do i know if my "Drive Controller" is running in "AHCI mode"? Teo3201 Storage 2 October 8, 2011 10:54 PM
MSN 2011 Causing "hard" power off? (Resolved, wasn't MSN related... ;) ) sswilson Troubleshooting 5 January 5, 2011 05:25 PM
3d Vision goes from "gimmick" to "ubiquitous" The RealRollo Video Cards 28 October 21, 2010 04:55 PM
Stupid "puts PC into low power state..." is crunked donimo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 August 23, 2008 05:23 AM