Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 05:22 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default Rackmount case

My church needs a new computer and they want it to be rackmount. Just need some ideas as this is new territory for me and I don't want to mess it up lol.

I am guessing that 3U are needed for a full size GPU.

I am thinking of going with this case as it is a cheapest at the moment at newegg

Newegg.ca - NORCO RPC-370 Black 3U Rackmount Spacious Chassis 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays


the GPU is a 9600 GSO. I am guessing this PSU would be no problem for it. Newegg.ca - Athena Power AP-U2ATX50 20+4Pin 500W Single 2U Server Power Supply - Server Power Supplies
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."

Last edited by belgolas; September 9, 2012 at 05:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 05:29 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Unless you need a gpu just get a board with it built in and get a 2u case
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 05:31 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

They need dual video out. Not sure if the latest mobo's(lga 1155) can do it
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 05:32 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

FYI, my RPC-270 allows full-size ATX PSUs...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 05:36 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

hmm you must mean RPC-370... Well if it does than that is very excellent as I have a ATX PSU. :)

on the website it shows 2u and 3u power supplies only.
RPC-370
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 05:44 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

Ah I just got told I can do 4u so that means full ATX power supplies :).
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 05:52 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
hmm you must mean RPC-370... Well if it does than that is very excellent as I have a ATX PSU. :)

on the website it shows 2u and 3u power supplies only.
RPC-370
No, RPC-270: RPC-270
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 06:16 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
No, RPC-270: RPC-270
Well thats pretty awesome. Well I would just have to get a el-cheapo low profile gpu.

Well talked a bit more and it looks like I will either go with this or a 4u.

This computer would be used to control lights so it wouldn't need to be powerful. Possibly going to build another computer as they want it to go rackmount as well and would be the last one that would "need" to. That one would need to be more powerful though as it controls all the video. Little story over...

Thanks for the help guys. Never built one of these but it looks pretty much like any other build.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."

Last edited by belgolas; September 9, 2012 at 06:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 06:52 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

The system build itslef is pretty much the same, just case layout is horzontal (liek is was ocne upn a time) isntead of vertical. Antec make a group of nice rackmount cases that are fairly quiet if that's an issue.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2012, 11:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Van
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Is it a closed rack or a 4-post rack? Does the rack have support for the rear of the case, or were you going to hang the case off the front mounts only?

If you're expecting to hang the case front and rear, then you'll need to get into purchasing the correct mounting rails and stuff. Finding the correct hardware can be a chore.

If on the other hand this is a 2-post rack and the case will hang only from the front, and if you're on a budget, then I strongly suggest getting one of the cheap 4u boxes rather than a 2u or 3u. The 1u's and 2u's will not work at all without proper rear supports, don't even think of it. The 3u's are probably better, but the 4u's are strongest and are the smallest I'd consider hanging on a 2-post rack.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rackmount NAS Build lcdguy Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 29 September 30, 2009 10:57 AM
[FS] 2 servers and a scsi hdd rackmount cage + 15 9gb 10000rpm drives. kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 8 June 25, 2009 01:14 AM
Multi Purpose Rackmount PC Lyxtwing New Builds 8 December 11, 2008 06:34 PM
Rackmount Water Cooling for servers? sswilson Water Cooling 14 September 23, 2008 04:56 PM
Rackmount issues death_hawk New Builds 1 July 3, 2008 09:59 AM