Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 04:26 AM
deinosaur's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
FYI, the dual swap bay rail holes are an oddity. I took it off and put my BR drive on that rail and none of the holes matches my drive.
Are you saying that I will not be able to mount anything but the default 2.5 swappable container that comes pre installed in the tower? hmm that's a good heads up.


The 4200 RPM fans were the same price as the 1850 ones so I figured I would get the faster ones and just use a fan controller to turn them down when I am on idle. The 3 fans are on my triple radiator and they cool just my cpu which isn't even overclocked right now so yea I could always switch the fans. The problem is I already spent 25 dollars each on those fans and I rather not just toss them away or try and sell them for cheap. To be honest I don't know much about water cooling and my friend helped me buy all the parts and put it together, he came to the conclusion that I needed a 50 watt per channel fan controller to be able to power them so that's why I said I needed the 50 watts.

Also, I currently don't care about my setup which is why it's not overclocked so I am thinking about the near future and compatibility I will need in order to have no problems installing my current water cooling. I could always get slower fans but I'll be getting dual hydro video cards in the future also, so I think keeping faster fans is better. I don't have a push/pull configuration either it's just 3 fans on a triple radiator. I don't know how much of a difference slower fans will make but i'll probably be using the same radiator to cool my cpu and dual video cards later on.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 04:34 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
FYI, the dual swap bay rail holes are an oddity. I took it off and put my BR drive on that rail and none of the holes matches my drive.
That's why I said some minor modding is required ;) Just need to drill new holes. Otherwise it is a 5.25"-sized bay.

As for the fan controller, you only need 25W/channel to run those fans. Definitely don't need 50W. But like I said, I really doubt the built-in fan controller is capable of anything over 10W.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 08:36 PM
deinosaur's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

I am picking up the Cosmos II midnight black version tomorrow. Found it for 200 dollars here on the forums and selling my old tower for 100 to a friend so for 100 dollars I couldn't say no to the deal.




Hopefully it all works out and I don't run into major problems. I will have to see tomorrow! thanks for all the tips/advice guys, appreciate it!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ultra XconnectVS and Ultra V series hohohee Member Reviews 9 April 15, 2009 05:11 PM
Cosmos 1000 VGA Fan Duct or Cosmos S 200mm fan? no_pulse Air Cooling 0 June 10, 2008 05:57 PM
Cool Master Cosmos 1000 questions no_pulse Cases 6 March 24, 2008 11:45 AM