Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2007, 11:02 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default Ditch my Case

I've been considering ditching my computer case to have greater accessability and ease of swaping components. I've tried to find some ideas on the web for good designs for some sort of board to mount my components on but I can't find anything (mostly because I don't even know what to google). Does anyone have any suggestions for a practical design that will accommodate H20?

Last edited by Babrbarossa; March 9, 2007 at 11:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2007, 11:29 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,670
Default

You are probably looking for something like the Danger Den Torture Rack or Highspeed tech station.

Here is the Danger Den:

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...e=Danger%20Den


Here are a few Highspeed products...I REALLY want one of these. It would make my reviews SO much easier:

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...HighSpeed%20PC

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...HighSpeed%20PC

And their site:

http://www.highspeedpc.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2007, 11:40 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Thanks- I really like the look of the danger den- but I understand why you'd covet the highspeed as there's better access to the PSU. I think the D-D might suit my purposes better - do you know if it is made to accommodate watercooling/ it's not a big deal if it the pump and rad have to sit outside, but I'd prefer it to go on the inside for better ease of movement- I'm also not adverse to building my own.

EDIT: I've been checking out the torture rack on the danger den site and I see it is designed to hold two 2X120mm rads on each side of the case,- unfortunately, I have a 3X120mm on the way.

Last edited by Babrbarossa; March 9, 2007 at 12:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2007, 11:40 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Something full size. Like Amour or Lian Li, not the Kandalf ...cause of the ugly snorkel thingy It's always a bonus if the HD racks can be removed or moved to make room. I would kinda like to try out the coolermaster 830 stacker. Has all kindsa room and a removable mobo tray.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2007, 11:50 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
You are probably looking for something like the Danger Den Torture Rack or Highspeed tech station.

Here is the Danger Den:

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...e=Danger%20Den


Here are a few Highspeed products...I REALLY want one of these. It would make my reviews SO much easier:

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...HighSpeed%20PC

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...HighSpeed%20PC

And their site:

http://www.highspeedpc.com/
I really like the DD torture rack .
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2007, 11:56 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,670
Default

Quote:
EDIT: I've been checking out the torture rack on the danger den site and I see it is designed to hold two 2X120mm rads on each side of the case,- unfortuneately, I have a 3X120mm on the way.
Buy a 4' X 8' sheet of 3/8" thick clear or frosted acrylic (called Crystal Ice) and custom design one yourself. It isn't that hard at all. Acrylic can be cut by a regular saw, you can use a Dremel to cut the holes and it can all be put together with a few well placed drops of contact cement.

Heck, I'll even offer my services to draw it up in AutoCAD if you give me the dimensions of the components you want to install.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2007, 12:05 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I think I might just try that- who knows- maybe I'll even win Deathspawner's Ugliest Case award. I was thinking about acryllic, but I've never noticed it in any at the local building supply stores- Is it easy to get?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2007, 12:10 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,670
Default

Quote:
I think I might just try that- who knows- maybe I'll even win Deathspawner's Ugliest Case award.
Just remember, you won't have a metal rail to attach your cards onto like in the DD rack.

Quote:
I was thinking about acryllic, but I've never noticed it in any at the local building supply stores- Is it easy to get?
Where do you live? I might be able to put you in touch with one of my acrylic suppliers.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2007, 12:19 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I'm just looking at my p180- I could just drill out 6 aluminum rivets, and I could use the whole back off of it- I would probably use one of the HD cages too.

I live near fredericton- but if acrylic is hard to come by, I could use hardwood.

EDIT- I actually have a couple of older cases around here too- probably better taking them apart than the p180

Last edited by Babrbarossa; March 9, 2007 at 12:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2007, 12:35 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,670
Default

Quote:
I live near fredericton- but if acrylic is hard to come by, I could use hardwood.
The closest supplier I have to you is in Halifax. Alternately, you can call up the hobby stores and building supplies stores in your area.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A+ Case Black Pearl WCR Edition ATX Case Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 June 19, 2007 09:28 AM