Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Cases (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/cases/)
-   -   Triple (120mm) Threat - Antec 900 (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/cases/4964-triple-120mm-threat-antec-900-a.html)

Mr. Cipher March 8, 2008 12:43 PM

Triple (120mm) Threat - Antec 900

I wanted to get some feedback on the feasibility of this project, since I have never done any case mods before:

I was thinking of buying a 3rd HD bay from Antec and sticking it into my 900 case so I would have 3 120mm fans as intake fans, blowing some fresh cool air over my hardware.

That's the easy part.

The problem is that I only have 9 5.25" bays, and each HD bay is 3 bays high, leaving me no room for a DVD drive. Do any of you know if it would be possible to somehow mod the case so I could still have a DVD drive anywhere?

Every mod I have found is the run-of-the-mill "I took a dremel and made holes for cable mgmt" mod, which I will do but is not hard to perform when you measure twice and cut once. I have not found anything else for this case.

Ideas are very, very welcome. :biggrin:

ebdoradz March 8, 2008 01:05 PM

hmmm also had the same trouble with my thermaltake armor, wanted to h ave 3 120mm fan in front but only pus 2 of them because i need a place for a dvd burner, fan controler and floppy

since the PSU in at the bottom of the case, you want to have fresh air on your mobo/cpu/video card and all, why dont you pus the dvd drive at the uttom and mount the fan in the top front of it with your hdd the lowest possible in the hdd cage. that why you will have more fresh air on the mobo and less on the psu

Cptn Vortex March 8, 2008 02:08 PM

I think the only thing you can do is get an external 5.25" enclosure and use your DVD drive by firewire or USB

Scart March 8, 2008 02:59 PM

Here's a mod where a guy put a slim laptop dvd drive in the very bottom: