Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 12:58 AM
Grampa's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 185

My System Specs

Default Tech Bench?

Hi folks,

Originally I made this thread to ask about the Thermaltake Level 10 GT however, after some consideration and realizing I may not necessarily require yet another computer case to take up space.

I edited this thread, and now am just seeking info from the more tech savvy among you who are in the know about Tech Benches.

I am taking a more serious look into overclocking & more over, dry ice & LN2 cooling among that.

Would it be better to build my own?

Or would it be better to purchase a pre-made unit?
If pre-made is the way to go, do you have any suggestions as to what brand to go with?

Where do I start? what do I need to do?

Thanks for any suggestions or advice you can offer.

Cheers

Last edited by Grampa; November 28, 2011 at 01:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 06:18 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,611
Default

You could build your own but I'd still suggest a Highspeed PC tech station. They are inexpensive and have met my needs for the last 6 years.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 06:23 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

I also have a Highspeed PC Tech Station and I've got to say they are rather good quality for how much you pay for them. That said if I had the tools and workspace I would build myself one, as its relatively straight forward for the most part (if you're half handy with tools).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 07:06 AM
Slaughter's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 346

My System Specs

Default

I love my Highspeed PC Tech Station with the exception or trying to keep my watercooling all in place. :P
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 07:22 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

This is the one I own and its great. if you like OCing and swapping out parts quick this is the way to go.
NCIX.com - Buy Highspeed PC XL-ATX TOP Deck Tech Station FAST-ACCESS Computer Case Black - HighSpeed PC - TD_TechStation_XL - in Canada
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 07:42 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I currently have my ATX HSPC tech station with 2 systems on it. One on the top and the 2nd on the botom. Its awesome for swapping out parts and having 2 systems in such a small space is great.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 08:14 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Dimastech has the best tech stations IMO. I have a Highspeed as well but compared to the Dimastech the Highspeed is primitive.

Extreme Cooling Solutions & Technologies

Here the two are for comparison purposes.



Install thread: Dimastech bench station
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 08:55 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,611
Default

Dimastech may be great but it also costs ~$200 once everything is said and done, no?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 09:22 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yes, $50 more than the Highspeed XL pictured above and the $200 includes shipping. Dimastech is made from machined steel, you can get any color you want, fully customizable layout.



Highspeed is two pieces of pressboard held together by screws and 4 metal legs. There isnt enough clearance to use a backplate on your CPU cooler and the board and components dont attach to the station. You have to modify the station with washers and longer screws to fit an aftermarket cooler.

Not even in the same ballpark IMO.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 09:38 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

I don't know what kind of after market cooler you are using Eld, but all the after market coolers I have been using had no issues with clearance whatsoever. I did have to move one of the rubber supports that was too close to my default 1366 back plate but that was about it.

Though would I go to something like this over what I have, hell I would, for the price I'm a little more leery. I suppose if I want to go into water cooling at some point in the future (year or two) it'll probably be in a case rather then a tech bench.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Case Review Mnpctech Off Topic 10 March 19, 2011 05:30 AM
Thermaltake Level 10 and Megahalem Closed Note New Builds 12 August 8, 2010 12:10 PM
Thermaltake Level 10 Signal2Noise Cases 2 September 29, 2009 10:15 AM
Thermaltake Level 10 chassis Mark Press Releases & Tech News 18 September 28, 2009 01:51 PM
Trying to change Cases for ever - THERMALTAKE LEVEL 10 cwestwell Press Releases & Tech News 30 September 7, 2009 04:11 PM