Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Cases (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/cases/)
-   -   Portable solid case (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/cases/45545-portable-solid-case.html)

JJThomp August 10, 2011 06:35 AM

Portable solid case

Hey guys I'm going to be building my computer in september however I am a university student and will need to take this computer along with all my stuff and my girlfriends stuff 1400 km in a pontiac G5 coupe... Yeah it's gonna be a tight fit, so I'm going to downsize the case I use. Also this means it must be solid because it might get a little bumped around.

This case is going to be for a gaming/folding rig so it needs good cooling and needs to be able to fit a GTX 560 ti or GTX 570.

I did a bit of searching through threads but mostly they recommend mini-itx cases which are okay but I think m-ATX will be small enough.

Budget $50-$100 (up to $160 with PSU in must be a good PSU included).

SKYMTL August 10, 2011 07:47 AM

I HIGHLY recommend the Silverstone Sugo series or better yet, the new Silverstone Temjin TJ08B-E.

Keltron 3030 August 10, 2011 07:54 AM

My vote goes to the Temjin TJ08 as well; looks real slick, small and very efficient in terms of cooling

JJThomp August 10, 2011 08:48 AM

Temjin TJ-08 looks really good but is there anything with a bottom mounted PSU?

I read the Fractal Arc series was good but can't seem to find any

Edit: how do you guys feel about the NZXT Vulcan (I like the handle and amount of fans although the case is pretty fugly)

Also a little more information this will only have a 2.5inch and a 3.5 inch drive + 1 optical Drive so HDD space is not really an issue.

SKYMTL August 10, 2011 09:30 AM

A bottom mounted PSU in a small chassis is pointless IMO. In such a small enclosure, it is MUCH more efficient to have the PSU mounted at the top in order to suck out hot air.

Flemminr August 10, 2011 09:31 AM