Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2011, 06:03 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default HAF 922 Issue?

So I picked one of these up a couple of days ago and I'm wondering if I have a defective case or not?
Essentially the main issue is that the bottom 'shelf' where the PSU is housed and the extra fan is not firm. The PSU area is fine, however, the area where the extra intake fan would go is very flexible and will bounce up and down with minimal pressure at all. It's easy to notice it as there is a gap where the HDD cage meets that part of the case. If I push it up from the bottom to flatten it out, it just flexes back down after little movement.
This worries me as if I ever were to install a fan, I could see it possibly vibrating, furthermore, not sure if the case would be fully rigid with this.
Is this normal for this case as my CM690 which has a very similar style in the same area is perfectly solid as they used thicker steel.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2011, 06:29 PM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

I just poked around the bottom of my 922 that I bought back in late 09'ish, and mine did not flex as drastically as you'd described.
__________________
Protect your chicken from Dokken.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2011, 06:35 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

they probably used a much thinner sheet, shouldnt flex like that for a 100$ case.

see if you can get it changed


ps i do remember the last one i used seemed a little lighter but maybe i was just comparing to a heavier one
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2011, 07:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 32

My System Specs

Default

I just checked my 922 that I got last march and Im getting very little flex from pushing with my fingers, not even enough to get a gap of any sort between the hd cage and the bottom.

I would defiantly get ahold of a CM rep and find out if there is some sort of problem the case.
__________________
haf 922, amd 955BE, m4a79xtd EVO, 4gb corsair XMS 1600 8-8-8-24, hyper 212+, ati 4850 1gb, 550w ocz fatality series.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 06:07 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

Crap, was hoping it was normal so I wouldn't have to rip apart the machine and rebuild it.
Guess I'll call CM tonight and see what they say. Might have to take the case back to NCIX. :(

I also find that both doors bow outwards too, so I have to push them in to close them, but I can live with that cause those are easy to replace.

Guess I probably just got a defective case.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 09:26 AM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eluder View Post
I also find that both doors bow outwards too, so I have to push them in to close them, but I can live with that cause those are easy to replace.
Are they screwed in tightly? My panels bow out too, but only when they weren't screwed in.
__________________
Protect your chicken from Dokken.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 09:40 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

They bow out before I can screw them in, so I have to push them in to align them, then when they are closed I can screw them in.
They basically don't slide in smoothly all the way unless I push them in.

I spoke to CM, they asked me to send some pictures and they will confirm whether or not the case has any issue or if it's the norm.

I will post them up here as well for everyone's perusal.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 04:10 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

Here are the pictures:

http://i56.tinypic.com/4h7ebn.jpg
http://i55.tinypic.com/2e6h350.jpg
http://i51.tinypic.com/24w7wvp.jpg
http://i56.tinypic.com/wme8pf.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 04:20 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

Wow, that is quite a bow in the side panels.

Something might not have been fabbed right for your case. Hopefully you can get an RMA for it.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2011, 05:57 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

I'm more concerned with the bottom of the case as that would require replacement of the entire case.
The panels can simply be swapped out by CM, so hopefully other fellow 922 owners can comment about the bottom of the case as well.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Haf 922 LED's macwillus Troubleshooting 3 December 27, 2010 04:53 PM
[FS] HAF 922 for sale. Mena Buy/Sell & Trade 56 October 9, 2010 08:11 AM
[WTB] CoolerMaster HAF 922 anthonee1230 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 24, 2010 03:45 PM
Haf 922 _dangtx_ Cases 4 November 14, 2009 09:27 PM