Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2010, 09:08 AM
francisw19's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 246
Default HAF X hot swap bays

I am thinking about getting the HAF X case. I understand that it has two hot swappable drive bays in the front. However, I use an Asus Crosshair IV motherboard that has SATA III.

Does anyone know if the hot swap bays will work with the SATA III controller on the CH4? (I'm not expecting full SATA III speeds, just want to confirm compatibility).

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2010, 09:17 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

SATA3 is pin-compatible with SATA2, so I don't see why it wouldn't work. Keep in mind that in order to actually be able to hot-swap drives, you'll need to have AHCI mode enabled for the motherboard's SATA3 controller.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2010, 10:59 AM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,253

My System Specs

Smile Cases and Cooling

I have the HAF X and have a WD 1tb 6gb/sec in one of the hot swap bays and it works just fine. The new gen works so much faster, it's great!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2010, 02:32 PM
francisw19's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 246
Default

Thanks to both replies! Nice to hear it will work!

I'm very excited about this case...I'm gonna pick one up tomorrow. Just have to figure out how to get this one past the wife.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2011, 04:30 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Default Haf X hot swap

HI
I see you are using the hot swap bays. I have enable the ACHI and i cannot seem to get the bays to work. Can you tell me what esle to do? I have an ASUS Rampage III Extreme Mother board.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 10:17 AM
Cooler Master USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by francisw19 View Post
Thanks to both replies! Nice to hear it will work!

I'm very excited about this case...I'm gonna pick one up tomorrow. Just have to figure out how to get this one past the wife.
I'd love to see a video of you trying to sneak that case by anyone.
__________________
Nic
Cooler Master USA, Inc.

CM Blog, CM Forums, CMHD.tv, CMUSA Questions? -
CM FAQ, Live Support
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2011, 05:08 PM
francisw19's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TTWHAT View Post
HI
I see you are using the hot swap bays. I have enable the ACHI and i cannot seem to get the bays to work. Can you tell me what esle to do? I have an ASUS Rampage III Extreme Mother board.
Make sure you have the latest drivers for your SATA...hotswapping didn't work on my Crosshair IV board until I installed the Marvel SATA drivers. Oddly, if I booted with the drive connected first, I could read and write to the drive no problem...just no hot swapping.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nic-CM View Post
I'd love to see a video of you trying to sneak that case by anyone.
LOL! Yeah...this was a while ago, but I did get busted. The wife took it good, though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.5'' to 3.5'' Tray, Hot-Swap Backplane CMetaphor Storage 13 January 30, 2013 08:32 AM
Swanky Hot Swappable Drive bays Mnpctech Off Topic 4 May 27, 2010 10:45 AM
hot swap question Patramix Storage 10 March 23, 2010 08:57 PM
Hot Swap Hard drive grifter11 Storage 8 July 18, 2009 12:39 PM
Operation HAF Baked! Cooler Master HAF 932 Lithotech Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 42 December 17, 2008 09:22 AM