Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2010, 12:13 AM
Jamula66's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

My Lancool K-62 has a bottom mounted power supply, but its on about 1cm power supply feat so air flow is fine (well maybe not seeing as my XFX 750W just exploded)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2010, 04:13 PM
Toyoracer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kootenays
Posts: 317
Default

If drawing in air from the case, and the video card would be closest, would the intake air be too warm?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 12:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default

I have mine setup just like that, HAF 932 + Ultra X3 1600w. I haven't honestly noticed any dust issues and mine sits right on the carpet, the temps are fine as well. Results of course may vary as I have so much positive pressure in the case that it escapes out any available holes (6x 148cfm Delta's in total, 4 on the side panel and 2 on my H50).
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 03:33 PM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

I have a cm690, bottom mounted psu, and I have it sitting on carpet. So, after just one week I bought a piece of plexi glass for it to sit on!
No more problem!
__________________
Opty 170(naked) @2600 | Abit AT8 32x | EVGA Vanilla 8800gt 650/1625/950 | 2gb Ocz Pc4000Eb@260 | Audigy Gamer | Tx650 | Cm690 |

WC Loop: DD Cpx-Pro | HWL 240 Xtreme | D-Tek V2
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 03:45 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

I have a cosmos with bottom mounted PSU sucking air in from the bottom (and out the back of course) so I put my case on top of a piece of wood so it has proper clearance. Carpet can also add friction to the air flow which could possibly make your fan work harder.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 04:32 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 362

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varroa View Post
I have a cosmos with bottom mounted PSU sucking air in from the bottom (and out the back of course) so I put my case on top of a piece of wood so it has proper clearance. Carpet can also add friction to the air flow which could possibly make your fan work harder.
+1, I've had a bottom mounted PSU on a case sitting ontop of carpet. My case (PC-A7010) does not have direct bottom ventilation, its only lifted from the bottom of the case by half an inch to intake. Even though its only intake was from the front, the fact it was sitting on carpet meant everything got stuck in there. When I took my PC for a thorough cleaning w/ an air compressor, I was shocked at the dust and dust bunnies that came out of the PSU, just ridicolous! There was more dust in there than the rest of the PC.

As with varroa, I second the wood recommendation, I have mine sitting on a wooden tray thats lifted for about 2 inches or so, and it makes a huge difference.

__________________
Daily // 2.4GHz Mac Mini ::4GB :: 320GB HDD :: Apple Wireless Keyboard :: G5v2

Rig // PC-A7010 :: 1050W :: Rampage :: Q6600 :: 8GB :: GTX 260
X25-V :: 4x 1TB RAID-5 :: 2x 1TB RAID-1 :: 4x 1.5TB :: 1x 2TB
G15v2 :: MX-518 :: Xonar DX :: 7 Pro x64

2408WFP :: DT770/80 :: Onkyo TX-SR605 :: Klipsch RB-61 :: SVS PB10-NSD
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 05:11 PM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

curious how much clearance would be required for a bottom mounted & FLIPPED PSU? (I am considering cutting a hole in the bottom of my 900 and flipping my PSU to help hide some wires)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 07:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Socrates_Johnston View Post
curious how much clearance would be required for a bottom mounted & FLIPPED PSU? (I am considering cutting a hole in the bottom of my 900 and flipping my PSU to help hide some wires)
If it's on carpet, I would say give it at least half an inch clearance above the top of the carpet.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bottom mount PSU cable lengths Bond007 Cases 6 November 23, 2009 11:36 AM
Bottom mount PSU cable length Bond007 Power Supplies 4 November 20, 2009 11:21 AM
Mod PSU from top to bottom of case Scart Cases 9 April 14, 2009 11:50 PM
Move PSU to Bottom of Case? Scart Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 4 April 13, 2009 05:40 PM