Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 12:44 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 15
Default CM 690 Advanced II

Just picked up this case and transfered everyhting out of my CM 335 into the 690. What a nice case to work with. Comment, is it just me or is the cpu cutout off quite a bit? I have a Noctua cooler and the mounting bracket that goes on the back of the motherboard hits the edge of the motherboard tray, is this a problem? Is anyone else having this issue? Isn't the cutout there to allow you to mount a cooler while the motherboard is in the case? I'm glad I mounted mine before hand.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 01:03 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

Are you using an LGA-1336 motherboard by chance?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 02:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North York, ON
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

I don't have the same case as you, but I do have the HAF922, and have the same problem. The cutout is off from the cpu socket, and it is impossible to put the cpu cooler backplate on with the mobo already mounted (it's only off by a few millimetres), which defeats the entire purpose of the cutout. I'm surprised more people don't have this problem (or maybe no one mentions it)

It was a pain in the ass for me - I had to tape the backplate to the mobo, mount the mobo into the case, then mount the cpu cooler to the backplate - took me hours...
__________________
Desktop: Asus Maximus V Gene | 3570K @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 16GBXL 9-9-9-24 | Patriot PYRO SE 240GB SSD | Gigabyte 650ti Boost | Seasonic X-460FL 80PLUS Gold Modular Fanless Power Supply

http://feedback.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI...onthelam7&iid=
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=44147
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 03:54 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiXT View Post
Are you using an LGA-1336 motherboard by chance?
No I'm using a 1156, Asus Maximus Formula 3.

It's out more than a few millimeters on mine. For the cut out to be directly centered over the cpu, it would need to move about 3/4-1 inch towards the front and 3/4-1inch down.

Overall the case is pretty awesome, the only other wish would be that they made the area behind the motherboard about 1/4 inch wider. I had a tough time fitting the extra psu cables back there, it was a bit of a squeeze to fit the side cover on. For the price, the best case I've used.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 04:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 169
Default

Do you guys think I'll have this problem with the Gigabyte P55A-UD3 and Thermalright PURE Rev. C?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 10:06 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 132

My System Specs

Default

My P7p55d doesnt line up either.... Very weird. I bet CM only tested like 1 motherboard lol
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 07:33 PM
LaughingCrow's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsquare View Post
Do you guys think I'll have this problem with the Gigabyte P55A-UD3 and Thermalright PURE Rev. C?
Yes. You'd want to mount the cooler before securing the motherboard to the case.

I have the same board, different cooler. The lower 2 installation holes are below the cutout. Retrofitting another cooler with the motherboard installed, looks like it would be somewhere between awkward and impossible, depending on the lower support bracket.

I had an extra 80 mm x 25 mm case fan and I considered mounting it on the right side panel (figure 2, page 12 of the manual). But the gap isn't wide enough to accommodate the fan--the fan blades hit one of the protruding pins (or rivet heads?) on the CPU mounting bracket on the underside of the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 07:49 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 855
Default

my evga p55 ftw doesn't line up with the cut-out in my HAF either. the moved the socket down an inch or so from the 775 by the looks of it.
i'm going to try just loosening all the mobo mounting screws to get the back plate in. (hopefully it shows up tomarrow) :D
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 07:58 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BT! View Post
i'm going to try just loosening all the mobo mounting screws to get the back plate in. (hopefully it shows up tomarrow) :D
I don't thing it's a good idea.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 08:17 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

1156 and 1366 are the same mount.

Sounds like a lot of cases are still using a 775 template for them and it will be awhile before we see cases work towards the 1156/1366 style.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comment Thread for Cooler Master 690 II Advanced Video Review SKYMTL Cases 38 August 18, 2011 01:16 AM
Kovok's New CM 690 II Advanced Kovok Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 23 March 13, 2010 11:57 PM
CM 690 II Advanced First Pictures Leaked CM MR HAF Rumor Mill 47 January 6, 2010 12:08 PM
Cooler Master 690 II Advanced Mid Tower Case Leaked FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 December 8, 2009 09:29 AM