Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 07:23 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default Prepping a Case for Powder Coating?

I will be recieving my TJ07 withing aprx ten days and plan on doing a window mod (I got the kind without the window so I can make a more semetrical window - aligned with the bottom grill). I am also revearsing the motherboard and doing the BTX mod

After that, it is off the the local powder coater, well the internals at least.

What procedures/ prep work do I need to do? i.e what do I do with all the screw holes? Wont the powdercoating clog them? Do I need to drill them out?

For those of you that have PCed your case, what did you do?

Thanks,
- Cody
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 07:29 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

Silicone Plugs- Powder coat silicone plugs, silicone caps You need silicon plugs to plug the holes w/. This was my first google result so you may be able to kind them in smaller supply and cheaper. You can get the powdercoaters to do this. But obviously it will cost more for their labour.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 07:35 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,070

My System Specs

Default

Some PC'ers put the plugs in. Some don't. My TJ-07 was done at Charles_H's PC'er, it doesn't appear like he blocks the holes. It just makes it a little harder to start the standoffs/screws.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 07:44 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Silicone Plugs- Powder coat silicone plugs, silicone caps You need silicon plugs to plug the holes w/. This was my first google result so you may be able to kind them in smaller supply and cheaper. You can get the powdercoaters to do this. But obviously it will cost more for their labour.
Hm... I'll talk to the powder coater and see how much they charge for that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Some PC'ers put the plugs in. Some don't. My TJ-07 was done at Charles_H's PC'er, it doesn't appear like he blocks the holes. It just makes it a little harder to start the standoffs/screws.
I'll send Charles an email to see what he recomends.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 07:53 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

I think you could just use some thermal tape to do that, ordering plugs may not be necessary. AFAIK the case should be lightly sanded (400 grit maybe) but don't quote me on that.
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 08:28 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
AFAIK the case should be lightly sanded (400 grit maybe) but don't quote me on that.
Case doesn't need to be sanded.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 04:26 AM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

OK my bad but doesn't the stock paint need to be sanded off (TJ07 doesn't have any though, right?)?
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 04:51 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
OK my bad but doesn't the stock paint need to be sanded off (TJ07 doesn't have any though, right?)?
Correct
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 10:29 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,070

My System Specs

Default

One thing I did was to make some cabling holes in the mobo tray. Make sure you do that before powdercoating.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 08:29 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
One thing I did was to make some cabling holes in the mobo tray. Make sure you do that before powdercoating.
I did email Charles about cable management and he said the only holse he made was for the 8-pin EPS. Although, yours looks clean as heck too
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Prepping Support for Core-i9 CPUs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 24 December 17, 2009 05:31 AM
SilverStone Fortress FT02 Prepping for Release FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 12 December 10, 2009 05:11 PM
Gigabyte Prepping Odin Plus Series Power Supplies FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 30, 2009 11:39 AM
Powder Coating my haf932 Jonwall Cases 20 July 29, 2009 09:55 AM
[FS] Mountain Mods (Black Wrinkle Powder Coat) H2gO Case Infiniti Buy/Sell & Trade 11 April 13, 2009 10:24 PM