Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2009, 11:06 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,833

My System Specs

Default Bottom mount PSU cable lengths

I am buying my brother a case for Christmas, since he continues to upgrade his computer in an old hot case. I am keeping cost low, so it is pretty much narrowed down to an Antec 200, 300 (which I have and love for the money), or Cooler Master Elite (310, 330, etc).

His PSU is a generic 500W (not sure of the brand).

Question: Do all PSU have cables that are long enough to go to the power connectors on a motherboard in a bottom mount PSU case??? Anyone have any experience with cables being too short in a bottom mount case of any type??? Should I play it on the safe side and go with a lower airflow top mount PSU case like the cooler masters mentioned (or something else)???

Thanks
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 07:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SSM, Ont.
Posts: 59
Default

I had a nspire psu that didnt have long enough cables for bottom mount psu, so I got a tx750w and the cables were long enough. Its the 4 pin connector on most psu's are shorter because they usually mount at the top. any of the corsair HX or TX psu's will have a long enough cable, most name brand psu and some no namers might also, just have to check the legnth of the cable and the height of the case.
__________________
Samsung RV515 - Acer Aspire One
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2009, 08:23 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,141
Default

Unfortunately, you're going to have to put a ruler to the case/motherboard, and then check the manufacturer's website. Even the better manufacturers don't always account for that sort of setup, and some bottom-PSU cases don't allow for good routing to minimize the cable length needed. And of course, not all motherboards put their plug sockets in the same location either.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 08:30 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default

you could always give him a few lengths of wire and a pair of strippers as well and tell him "have fun"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 08:40 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,306
Default

The simple, easy and cheap solution is:
NCIX.com - Buy Works 8 Pin Eps Male to 8 Pin Eps Female Extension Cable 12IN - CB-8M-8F In Canada.

I always have a couple kicking around in my parts room. That way it doesnt matter how long or short the cables are. IF they are long enough on their own, worst you are out is like 5 or 6 bucks. BUT If the cables are NOT long enough it keeps you from having 2 days of down time waiting for a cable to ship!

Just my $.02....YMMV...etc etc :)

Edit. these also come in handy for some rigs too ;)
NCIX.com - Buy ATX Power Adapter Male 4 Pin Molex to Female 4 Pin Motherboard 4 Pins Square - 4Pins-MF-Straight- Square In Canada.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 09:02 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Catharines, ON
Posts: 315

My System Specs

Default

When I first built my older system using my OCZ Stealth 600W and my CM 690 case, both the 24-pin and 4-pin cords were too short. I bought two cords at PC Cables: DB9, DB25, IDE, PS/2, mouse, null modem, SCSI, serial ATA, printer cables - Cables To Go and the problem was solved.

Even since I have changed out my motherboard, I still use the extensions because it gives me more options for routing behind the motherboard tray.

Cheers!
Lunch_Time_Canuck :)
__________________
Se moquer de la philosophie, c'est vraiment philosopher. - Blaise Pascal
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 11:36 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,833

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for your help everyone. I went to his place on the weekend and did a quick measurement while he wasn't around. Turns out the 24 pin would be the only problem (4 pin was a bit lower on his motherboard). Good thing I didn't order without checking the length or asking on here. Guess it will be one of the Cooler Master cases for him (don't want to invest in extension cables for a crappy PSU). I know they are all the same inside (except the 310 HDD), but any one have any other budget good flowing case recommendations than the elite 330 or 335 (will likely be 330).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb

Last edited by Bond007; November 23, 2009 at 11:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bottom mount PSU cable length Bond007 Power Supplies 4 November 20, 2009 11:21 AM
Mod PSU from top to bottom of case Scart Cases 9 April 14, 2009 11:50 PM
Move PSU to Bottom of Case? Scart Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 4 April 13, 2009 05:40 PM
Highspeed bottom mount to WC topmount mod sswilson Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 19 April 11, 2009 10:41 AM