Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2007, 06:47 PM
silverchair's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: somewhere down the road (Montreal)
Posts: 85
Default modifying side panel

Hi! im living in montreal, and i just want to know if there is anyone here living in montreal or near that knows how to modify side panels.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2007, 07:14 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Theres literally thousands of guides on the Internet about this. Depends what you want to do though. Things like adding a window or a fan are all over the place.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2007, 07:35 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

My girlfriend has a EMACHINE... nothing fancy to look at so I did alittle modding.... Added a side window and a top fan.... made the ring at work to cover the hole up....

is this something you had in mind?? Bare in mind it was a solid black side panel..

http://pic18.picturetrail.com/VOL888.../239875616.jpg

http://pic18.picturetrail.com/VOL888.../239875629.jpg

http://pic18.picturetrail.com/VOL888.../239875665.jpg

http://pic18.picturetrail.com/VOL888.../236166388.jpg
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2007, 07:55 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

What kind of mod do you want to do ? There is nothing like doing our own mods you know... A jigsaw, a drill + some other tools and your good to go!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2007, 07:56 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

I just busted a 127mm hole in the bottom of a antec 900 case for proper ventilation for the power supply! Damn near killed my cordless drill hahahha.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2007, 08:48 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I just busted a 127mm hole in the bottom of a antec 900 case for proper ventilation for the power supply! Damn near killed my cordless drill hahahha.
I've been thinking about that myself too. Might do it if/when I get watercooling.

@frost, Nice mod, however isn't that side fan "grill" a tad restrictive. Looks like very little air would get by.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2007, 03:31 AM
silverchair's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: somewhere down the road (Montreal)
Posts: 85
Default

@Patriote

i tried ones, but after i make a hole for my 1200mm fan, my sidepanel went to garbage after i shake my hands and let the drill go wherever it wants. bTW is that the case that you modded in your avatar?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2007, 08:38 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

If you put some masking tape or something around the hole your going to cut, usually results in a nice clean cut. Assuming you can hold the drill steady. It's a lot easier if you get a 114mm hole saw from the hardware store. Then you get a perfect circle.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2007, 11:25 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverchair View Post
@Patriote

i tried ones, but after i make a hole for my 1200mm fan, my sidepanel went to garbage after i shake my hands and let the drill go wherever it wants. bTW is that the case that you modded in your avatar?
You need to drill a pilot hole for hole saws otherwise you won't succeed very well.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2007, 11:47 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
You need to drill a pilot hole for hole saws otherwise you won't succeed very well.
They come with a pilot hole drill bit already. At least mine does. The drill bit sticks out a bit further than the actual hole saw, so it drills the pilot hole, then the hole saw chews away.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't remove my side panel... Slinger Troubleshooting 5 February 29, 2008 10:26 AM
Coolmaster Centurion 5: Clear side panel? tgraszat14 Cases 10 February 6, 2008 06:19 AM
Looking for a P182 Window Side Panel IN CANADA Hillsdale Cases 10 December 15, 2007 07:09 PM
VR-Zone posts side-by-side comparison of 8800s and r600s Babrbarossa Video Cards 4 May 2, 2007 08:50 AM
DX10 / DX9 side-by-side screenies for CONAN Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 4 May 1, 2007 04:00 AM