Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2009, 07:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default My Haf 932 is causing short circuit, Help please

The first week my pc was running fine. now theres a short circuit problem. It took me all day to find out but finally i found the cause of it. Its my case. when i run my pc out from the case. it runs fine, but when its in the case it crashes, even with/without case fans plugged in. Does anyone know what exactly causing my case to short circuit my mobo. I have the haf 932 case and gigabyte ex58 ud4p mobo.

One thing that might help is that my cpu cooler backplate bracket doesnt fit in the hole of the mobo tray. So part of the plate and nut is touching the metal mobo tray.

i really dont want to get a new case because i love my haf 932
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2009, 07:39 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Do you have washers on all your motherboard screws? There is a possibilty that that is the reason. Also check the I/O shield panel if anything there is out of the ordinary make sure the shield plate is completely snapped in to the case and the motherboards ports at the back are not being stabbed by a piece of metel or something.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2009, 09:21 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

I placed some electrical tape around the area where my HSF plate touched the tray of the HAF, just in case.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2009, 11:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
Do you have washers on all your motherboard screws? There is a possibilty that that is the reason. Also check the I/O shield panel if anything there is out of the ordinary make sure the shield plate is completely snapped in to the case and the motherboards ports at the back are not being stabbed by a piece of metel or something.
i just put electrical tape on the tray where the backplate is touching it. it still crashing. prehaps it could be the shieldplate where all the periphiral ports are. i notice the plate has metal spiks sticking out touching the motherboards port.

Edit: I took out the i/o shieldplate and so far no crash :D. its been up and running for 30 mins. usually it would crash within 1-5 mins. Thank you for your help.
All the things that could be the cause of it, and its the i/o shieldplate which not many people would have known.

Last edited by kromesta; August 20, 2009 at 11:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 07:41 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam
Posts: 76

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
Do you have washers on all your motherboard screws? There is a possibilty that that is the reason. Also check the I/O shield panel if anything there is out of the ordinary make sure the shield plate is completely snapped in to the case and the motherboards ports at the back are not being stabbed by a piece of metel or something.

nice find
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 03:55 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

I still don't get how the I/O shield can be the cause of the short circuit. I had a short circuit recently actually. I was installing additional RAM sticks and therefore I had to rotate and re-mount my Thermalright cooler. Apparently when I was securing back the bolts with those spring things, some spring popped too far and made a short circuit somewhere right near the CPU socket.

Thankfully I figured it out before day's end. :)
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 03:58 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

i think a lot of i/o shields are grounded to the case for some reason hence the metal foam backing. probably to help with i/o signal to noise ratio just a guess
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 04:03 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
Do you have washers on all your motherboard screws?
To be clear, you don't require those fibre washers on any screws. Those are a motherboards ground point, they are supposed to be there.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 06:32 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

On older machines i think the washers were needed, but not in the last 5-6 years at least they havent been needed. Ive never had an io shield cause that issue though, are you sure its in fully and properly? Make sure the metal teeth that are supposed to touch the outside of the ports arent in any ports, other than that i cant see why it would cause that problem. Although it could explain why asus has their qshield system.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Coolmaster HAF 932 MrFoxx Buy/Sell & Trade 1 May 11, 2009 08:44 AM
Baby has some new Diggs!!! HAF-932 CasheKicker Cases 34 March 16, 2009 10:37 PM
Operation HAF Baked! Cooler Master HAF 932 Lithotech Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 42 December 17, 2008 09:22 AM
HAF 932, ideas and suggestions. Wall86 Cases 2 October 16, 2008 04:43 PM
Built in standoff (dimples) on case-short circuit risk? magictorch CPU's and Motherboards 14 July 7, 2008 09:00 PM