Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2007, 09:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default

For me the pressure is minimal.



Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2007, 10:01 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,659
Default

Well, who knows......I can't comment any further than saying that my experience with the screws differs from yours.

Maybe I got a Freak review unit with buggered up grommets. But I stick to my story and no one is going to sway me!!

It's not like it was docked any HWC Rating Loonies because of it. Looks to me like I gave it a 5/5.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2007, 05:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I recently purchased this case and am building my first PC. I have a couple of questions.

Not sure how to hook up the headers from the front of the case. I have a EVGA SLI 680I board and the connection for the Power LED is three prong (1 and 3 have wires - 2 is empty) but my board only has two pins, how do I hook it up? Should I get a Q connector?

Not sure where to attach the 4 prong speaker wire to the board. (It's orange and black)

The case fan has a switch attached to it with 3 speeds, does it just sit inside the case as I can't see anywhere that it would attach to?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2007, 05:16 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mats View Post
I recently purchased this case and am building my first PC. I have a couple of questions.

Not sure how to hook up the headers from the front of the case. I have a EVGA SLI 680I board and the connection for the Power LED is three prong (1 and 3 have wires - 2 is empty) but my board only has two pins, how do I hook it up? Should I get a Q connector?

Not sure where to attach the 4 prong speaker wire to the board. (It's orange and black)

The case fan has a switch attached to it with 3 speeds, does it just sit inside the case as I can't see anywhere that it would attach to?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
1) Depin the connector so it becomes a 2 wire connector (side by side) instead of the 3 apart.

2) Yes fan switch stays inside case, most people set it to "M" and leave it.

3) People use speakers :P
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2007, 05:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the quick response!

Sorry for the Noobish questions.

I figured I would have to manually fix the connector. Can I cut it in half or should I switch the wire?

Basically I don't need the speaker wire attached anywhere, that is fine with me?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2007, 10:55 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mats View Post
Thanks for the quick response!

Sorry for the Noobish questions.

I figured I would have to manually fix the connector. Can I cut it in half or should I switch the wire?

Basically I don't need the speaker wire attached anywhere, that is fine with me?
Speaker is just to inform you of error/system beeps.

Its easy to depin you just press down on a tab and pull it out :)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2007, 04:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 33
Default

So as the review says, the Antec Sonata 3 can fit the 8800gts with a fan installed. What do you guys think about an 2900xt? Its slightly longer than a 8800gts and has its 6,8 pin power slots on top of the card instead. I believe it will fit.

So, since the review said the Antec Earthwatts 500W can run two 8800 GTS' in SLI mode, do you think it would be able to run an 2900xt? (2900pro is the card I'm really looking forwards to at the moment)
My setup - E6750 Core 2 Duo (stock fan)
P5K Vanilla
2 gigs hp2 mushkin ddr2
2 120mm case fans
1 HDD, 200 gb IDE
1 Sata DVD writer
Antec Sonata III with the Antec Earthwatts 500W

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2007, 06:19 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Song View Post
So as the review says, the Antec Sonata 3 can fit the 8800gts with a fan installed. What do you guys think about an 2900xt? Its slightly longer than a 8800gts and has its 6,8 pin power slots on top of the card instead. I believe it will fit.

So, since the review said the Antec Earthwatts 500W can run two 8800 GTS' in SLI mode, do you think it would be able to run an 2900xt? (2900pro is the card I'm really looking forwards to at the moment)
My setup - E6750 Core 2 Duo (stock fan)
P5K Vanilla
2 gigs hp2 mushkin ddr2
2 120mm case fans
1 HDD, 200 gb IDE
1 Sata DVD writer
Antec Sonata III with the Antec Earthwatts 500W

Thank you.
With the Sonata III and the fan you have probably 1/4" of space left to accommodate the wires.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2007, 06:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

If I add-up correctly, a 8800 GT would not fit this case?

Thanks,

JES
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2007, 06:30 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,659
Default

Yes. It would.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antec 900 or Sonata III? donimo Cases 34 January 15, 2008 10:46 PM
Comment Thread for Thermaltake TMG ND5 Review SKYMTL Video Cards 5 October 25, 2007 05:11 AM
Edifier S5.1 review Comment thread Robscix Audio 3 August 4, 2007 02:52 PM
Antec releases the Sonata III Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 6 May 19, 2007 12:54 PM