Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 09:33 PM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default Mod PSU from top to bottom of case

Anyone have any ideas on how to mod the backplate in a case to move the PSU from the top of the case to the bottom?

I want to mod my old case to be more of the new style with a big exhaust fan on top and the PSU on the bottom.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 09:41 PM
Bones's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 107
Default

What kind of case are we talking about?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 12:39 AM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

Cooler Master Centurion 5

Cooler Master Centurion 5- Mid tower case
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 07:43 AM
Mattu's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 225

My System Specs

Default

You could cut a hole in front of the psu and behind the dvd drives. I did that on my friends CM 330 and it worked pretty well
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 03:07 PM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattu View Post
You could cut a hole in front of the psu and behind the dvd drives. I did that on my friends CM 330 and it worked pretty well
I could do that, but I was hoping for something more exciting.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 09:58 PM
Bones's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 107
Default

From looking at the case, I think you would have to completely rebuild the back panel, tap some new holes for the mobo and cut some type of intake hole(s) for the psu. Might be easier to buy a new case. Sorry I couldn't be more constructive ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 10:00 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Be quite easy to do.

You'd have to set it up like a Lian Li A05B.

Mount the PSU in the front of the case and run a small extension through the case and make a plug on the back side.

Quite simple really.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 11:08 PM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

I don't want to put the psu in the front of the case.

I'm wondering how feasible it would be to cut the back panel and mobo panel or something along those lines
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 11:28 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scart View Post
I don't want to put the psu in the front of the case.

I'm wondering how feasible it would be to cut the back panel and mobo panel or something along those lines
With that case.

Not going to happen unless you use a matx board.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 12:50 AM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaame
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Move PSU to Bottom of Case? Scart Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 4 April 13, 2009 06:40 PM
Highspeed bottom mount to WC topmount mod sswilson Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 19 April 11, 2009 11:41 AM
[FS] EN8800GT TOP v-mod phil3_66666 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 21, 2009 02:56 PM
Top or bottom? magictorch Water Cooling 16 October 1, 2008 08:05 PM
sswilson's top mount rad + case window mod sswilson Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 49 January 5, 2008 10:42 PM