Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2009, 08:12 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mtl
Posts: 128
Default Antec 300 modding or new case

Hi all,

I currently got a Antec 300. I'm fairly happy with it. Exept for one point. Anyone can guess wich one? Yes, cable management is pitiful (I have a tx750w, there is so many cables).

So I'm currently seeing what I can do; and I want your inputs. I could do some case mod in my 300 so the cables will be able to hide behind the mobo (why the hell no one at antec have tough about that) or I could get a new case.

If I decide to do some modding, I'll need a dremel and a hole saw, so it will cost me $50-75$ no doubt. No I don't know no one who has those tools :(.

On the other side, it could be the same price for a new case, if I factor the price I'll sell my 300. What case should I consider? The CM 690 looks really nice to me, especially for cable management. I like the 902 too but god damn, it's really pricey. The 1200 won't fit my computer desk (the tower is sitting under the desk).

Any input is welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2009, 09:42 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

I'll tell ya it ain't easy, but its worth it. Theres only about 3/8" space between the mobo and side panel. Its barely wide enough to fit the 24pin mobo cable.






You could get by with only a dremel, which would run you around 30 bucks or so. If I were in your shoes I'd probably just buy a cm 690 and be done with it.

EDIT: In hindsight I probably should've cut the hole for the psu at the bottom below the buldged out portion. would give some much needed extra space.
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q

Last edited by aviduser; March 28, 2009 at 04:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2009, 09:51 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,967

My System Specs

Default

But modding is so much more rewarding!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 02:32 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Don't forget pleasing to the eye.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 05:44 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mtl
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiniti View Post
Don't forget pleasing to the eye.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
But modding is so much more rewarding!
For sure, I'll be proud of my modded 300. There is a dremel (jobmate brand) for $15 at canadian tire this week. Might give it a try.


@Trip; aren't you better having your having your psu the other way down? so it act like an exhaust fan?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 04:35 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,967

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bomberman07 View Post
@Trip; aren't you better having your having your psu the other way down? so it act like an exhaust fan?
I'd assume he cut a hole in the bottom of the case so the PSU is drawing in cold air directly.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 04:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina SK
Posts: 14
Default

I say do some modding.





cheers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 05:13 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mtl
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by titch-- View Post
I say do some modding.





cheers

I guess you've put your 3.5" hdd in the 5.25" bay. Do you need something to make it fit? Or you simply have no hdd, and you boot on a floppy :P
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 05:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina SK
Posts: 14
Default

When I was hackin up my case I didnt really know what I was going to do with the hard drives (only have one in right now). I knew I was going to put them under the dvd drive some how. lol

I was thinking of using the brackets I cut out some how. You can see them in this picture of what I was kind of planning on making.



You can see them cut to size sitting out in front of the case there. I only used one though in the end and used one side of the 5.25 bay. This way is made a little room to hide some wires behind it. Hope that helps some.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 06:54 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Nice job

You can get brackets which attach to your hdd and then you can install in a 5 1/4 bay.
I do that now and then.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dremel for Case modding serenity Cases 13 March 30, 2009 06:44 PM
Anyone know any good case modding sites? encorp Cases 11 November 6, 2008 06:56 PM
Info in Modding a case? chouchou Guides & How-to's 7 November 3, 2008 08:19 AM
LF: Antec Nine Hundred Case darksideleader Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 18, 2008 06:36 PM
Any good ultraviolet pc case modding guides? dosmond Guides & How-to's 1 June 2, 2008 04:26 PM