Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2006, 03:38 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

Does seem a little high for stock (I'm assuming idle), but I'm not an intel dude so I'm not sure.

Great looking rig. (Gonna have to order some more coolant though.... they should ship those kits with two bottles instead of one).

Do you intend on Water Cooling the GPUs as well?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2006, 04:37 PM
sizerkozak's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oshawa Ontario
Posts: 87
Default

I bought a 2nd bottle....i knew 1 wasnt enough

Yup im goona cool the HD and both GPU's with the water...once i have the chiller in place

The free version of 3DMark06 results are 8195
Good bad... i dunno ?

Im gonna run the nvidia Ntune overnight...
its supposed to do a bunch of overclocking for you...we will see what it comes up with
__________________
QX6700
ASUS P5N32-E SLI
BFG 8800 GTX
OCZ DC 2048MB PC8500 1066MHz DDR2 SLI
RaptorX 150GB 10K RPM
Three LGL1919S & 3HeadToGo
BFG 1000w
-20C Liquid Chiller
Rig Pics and Stats
Water chiller project
Monitor mod
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2006, 10:04 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

I've used ntune just to see where it got the system and then manually tweaked the bios.

The software bios tweakers have been known to make a mess when you try to reboot..... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2006, 08:03 AM
sizerkozak's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oshawa Ontario
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I've used ntune just to see where it got the system and then manually tweaked the bios.

The software bios tweakers have been known to make a mess when you try to reboot..... :)

sorry for all the questions but im really tottaly lost here
I used the NVIDIA control panel and ran the fine tunning app that takes aprox 3hrs to complete.
Once this finished it reported:
7% increase to the FSB (cpu bus) 267mhz - 287mhz
12% increase to the pci-e bus 3125mhz - 3525mhz
Before running the Nvidia control panel:
Temp cpu-36, system-36, GPU 63
cpuz reported this
and 3dmark06 was 8195
After running the control panel it reports: (screenshot)
this
and crystalcpuid reports this
3dmark06 is 7787
Temp cpu-38, system-34, GPU 63
This confusses me....why does the ram report back at only (400 MHz) when it is actually 1066 mhz ram ?
is there a better way to get more speeds?
Why did the 3dmark06 drop?
__________________
QX6700
ASUS P5N32-E SLI
BFG 8800 GTX
OCZ DC 2048MB PC8500 1066MHz DDR2 SLI
RaptorX 150GB 10K RPM
Three LGL1919S & 3HeadToGo
BFG 1000w
-20C Liquid Chiller
Rig Pics and Stats
Water chiller project
Monitor mod
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2006, 09:11 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

Best bet now is to turn off the ntune settings (they're probably running at boot) and manually do those settings in bios.

Then see what your benchmarks are.

It could be that ntune pushed something too far, or dropped something down that shouldn't have been dropped.

Does your board have an "AI overclock"? If so then you'd be better off using that to start with (usually it's a percentage) to ensure that the board is stable at higher settings.

Overclocking isn't a quick thing. It normally takes me a couple of weeks to get everything tweaked and tested for stability.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2006, 09:37 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Best bet now is to turn off the ntune settings (they're probably running at boot) and manually do those settings in bios.

Then see what your benchmarks are.

It could be that ntune pushed something too far, or dropped something down that shouldn't have been dropped.

Does your board have an "AI overclock"? If so then you'd be better off using that to start with (usually it's a percentage) to ensure that the board is stable at higher settings.

Overclocking isn't a quick thing. It normally takes me a couple of weeks to get everything tweaked and tested for stability.
I agree I OC in my BIOS, I have never got any utility to OC for me with any success.
First off do 1 thing @ a time, I would work your ram first, find your limit of your RAM using Memtest86 or a similar program Make sure it is stable.
Then down clock your ram back to stock and start finding your CPU's max OC, stable, using Prime95 once you have that do a little math to get the best overclock
IE:
Ram MAX - 275
CPU MAX - 3000
3000/275=10.9
so for this equation you would want to use a 11x multi
you will still have to fine tune your OC but thats a good way to start.
The key is to work with one thing at a time if you start ****ing with settings all over the place you are not going to know what went bad.
Once your cpu/ram has a nice stable overclock then Overclock your GFX, I personally like either Powerstrip or rivatuner.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2006, 10:28 AM
sizerkozak's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oshawa Ontario
Posts: 87
Default

Thanks guys...ill go that a shot and let you know how it goes
__________________
QX6700
ASUS P5N32-E SLI
BFG 8800 GTX
OCZ DC 2048MB PC8500 1066MHz DDR2 SLI
RaptorX 150GB 10K RPM
Three LGL1919S & 3HeadToGo
BFG 1000w
-20C Liquid Chiller
Rig Pics and Stats
Water chiller project
Monitor mod
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2006, 08:58 AM
sizerkozak's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oshawa Ontario
Posts: 87
Default

Ok here is a screen shot of what i have achieved so far...
im running the mem in linked mode
not sure if its good or not

3dMark06 is now at 10764


__________________
QX6700
ASUS P5N32-E SLI
BFG 8800 GTX
OCZ DC 2048MB PC8500 1066MHz DDR2 SLI
RaptorX 150GB 10K RPM
Three LGL1919S & 3HeadToGo
BFG 1000w
-20C Liquid Chiller
Rig Pics and Stats
Water chiller project
Monitor mod

Last edited by sizerkozak; December 31, 2006 at 09:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2006, 10:40 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, that looks like a pretty decent OC. 3G is where everybody tries to get.... :)

Now for the hard part..... you've got to ensure that it's stable at those speeds.

No use in having a high OC that's going to get you BSODs every time you look at it.... :)

You need to run some stress tests.

3dmark 03 is fairly quick and normally will hang if your system is unstable.

Next would be prime95 (I like to do at least 8 hours to ensure stability) and superpi.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2006, 02:22 PM
sizerkozak's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oshawa Ontario
Posts: 87
Default

Im actually running prime right now...so far so good...
next is to OC the GPU...not sure how thats done thou
__________________
QX6700
ASUS P5N32-E SLI
BFG 8800 GTX
OCZ DC 2048MB PC8500 1066MHz DDR2 SLI
RaptorX 150GB 10K RPM
Three LGL1919S & 3HeadToGo
BFG 1000w
-20C Liquid Chiller
Rig Pics and Stats
Water chiller project
Monitor mod
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best AM2 board? curtispan Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 January 5, 2008 10:10 AM
Help choosing P35 board magictorch Troubleshooting 19 December 10, 2007 08:17 PM
Best 939 board there ever was? chibi_man CPU's and Motherboards 21 November 1, 2007 07:24 PM
new board Rapid-X CPU's and Motherboards 2 October 19, 2007 11:16 AM
P5N32-E SLI board enaberif CPU's and Motherboards 6 September 5, 2007 09:57 PM