Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2008, 04:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default a pox on coolermaster and myself as well....

for not checking and finding out that the 2 coolermaster 590's that i bought to put systems in dont have a reset button. every single case i have ever had has one. who thinks to check for it?.

i will from now on. any modders here have a way to rig one up.

thx

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2008, 05:05 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

yeah the cosmos s dosn't have one either lol.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2008, 05:17 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

I prefer the blue ring but theres abunch of different styles.
Vandal Resistant Illuminated Switch 16mm Black - Blue Ring Products Model: VSW16-BK-RING-BL [VSW16-BK-RING-BL] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
All you need to do is wire it up so it connects to your mobo headers.
Or I believe PerPC offers to sleeve and wire it up for you for a price.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2008, 05:34 PM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

Most any momentary 2 pin switches will work like the one Supergrover posted (nice by the way) and they are usually very easy to install, just drill a hole the size of the shank of the switch and it comes with a nut you install from behind to secure the switch then hook up the wires. It does not matter which wire from which pin connects to the motherboard reset header since your just completing a circuit.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 12:58 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

i assume the reset switches installed on other cases are normally closed? that way when it is pushed, it opens a circuit?

thx

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 04:05 AM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

No, itís open and when pushed it completes a circuit signaling the motherboard to do a reset; itís not like the power switch that maintains a close circuit when the PC is on. Here is a link on how to install one.
Reset Button
But I would not solder on the motherboard as described in the link, if you have a old case use itís reset switch or cut the end off it and connect that to your new switch then plug it in to motherboard.

PS I'm sure it's open, but if you want I have a old case somewhere and I can test the reset button with a multimeter.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 05:01 AM
Exmortis's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 172
Default

Funny enough my new Coolermaster ATCS 840 has a reset switch, the first case to have on for me in many.
__________________
Exmortis's System

Corsair 600T White
Asus RoG Maximus V Gene
Intel i7-2600K w/Corsair H100
16GB Gskill DDR3 2400MHz
AMD R9 290X
OCZ Revo 3 240GB
OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
WD Velocirapter 600GB
LG DVD burner
LG Bluray Burner
Windows 7x64 Prem
Asus VE24/VE27/VE24
Logitech Z-5450 5.1 speakers
Corsair AX850 Gold PSU
Corsair K90 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coolermaster ATCS 840 Exmortis Cases 4 December 2, 2008 08:21 AM
Coolermaster 690 RCKage Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 8 November 25, 2008 08:55 AM
Coolermaster CM 690 lanken123 Cases 7 October 5, 2008 09:56 PM
FS: Coolermaster centurion 541 silverchair Buy/Sell & Trade 5 January 10, 2008 06:44 PM
Coolermaster CM 690 kcksteve Cases 29 January 1, 2008 09:53 AM