Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 05:16 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default Case wish list P190 without power supplies

This would be great for me to power two systems in the same case.
I sent DC a request to see if it's available.

Anyone heard of this case being sold without the 2 psu's ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 05:39 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

I don't think the P190 was ever available without the PSU's. Although I've got those two PSU's sitting on my shelf right here, without the case.

Does DC even offer the P190 anymore? It kind of fell out of vogue shortly after being introduced, for a variety of reasons, not the least of which was the really shitty modular PSU configuration. These days, I'm not sure if anybody still sells it. And honestly, I don't blame them.

If you want to run dual systems in a case, the obvious solution is a Mountain Mods Duality case. Beyond that, Silverstone's got a couple towers with spots for two PSU's, and I think Coolermaster does as well.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 05:47 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
I don't think the P190 was ever available without the PSU's. Although I've got those two PSU's sitting on my shelf right here, without the case.
How did that happen ?

I would prefer staying with Antec since I really like my P180 ...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 06:17 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

If you start considering other case manufacturers don't forget that the HAF will allow dual PSU mounts... Cooler Master HAF 932 Case Review , but you'd have to find a way to make them play nice together.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 06:40 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

The only shop that had 1 P190 in stock (saw it with my own eyes) was CIPC - www.cipc.com. But they don't even offer it on their website.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 11:57 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamawho View Post
How did that happen ?

I would prefer staying with Antec since I really like my P180 ...
Fair enough, although the P190 really isn't all it's cracked up to be. Unless you really want to run an E-ATX board, the extra couple inches of length don't do much. The 140mm Tri-cools up top are no better than the 120mm versions (i.e. mediocre), and they're harder to find good replacements for. The 200mm side fan is actually quite nice, but sticks a full 40mm into the case, above the socket, and will hit a lot of popular tower heatsinks.

All that aside, where were you going to put the second system in that case? It's only a few inches longer than the P180/2's, which doesn't work out to much more room to play with.

As for my PSU's, I used to have the case, but when I was putting it into my truck to take over to a guy who was going to powdercoat the insides, I set it on the ground and forgot about it. Then I came back, jumped into the truck and backed over it.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 01:58 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
As for my PSU's, I used to have the case, but when I was putting it into my truck to take over to a guy who was going to powdercoat the insides, I set it on the ground and forgot about it. Then I came back, jumped into the truck and backed over it.
Oh crap ... I feel for you man

Thanks for the advise.
I have two systems running in my P180 case but I used a power brick type psu to power an Atom mobo.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 02:10 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
The only shop that had 1 P190 in stock (saw it with my own eyes) was CIPC - www.cipc.com. But they don't even offer it on their website.
How much was it ?

I got a PM from DirectCanada and they suggest going to Antec directly ...
Sounds like that's not going to happen.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 02:23 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

Let me send a friendly email to my Antec rep....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 02:25 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Let me send a friendly email to my Antec rep....
That would nice ... thanks

Maybe they have a demo case
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes