Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2008, 04:46 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default Antec 1200

Looking for some "feedback" on the Antec 1200. I maybe possibly getting a 2nd GT 280 Card, which will mean a PSU with a little more "poop" and of course would like a larger Case (good cooling etc).
Any suggestions other tha 1200 would be great, I would like:
1. Full size case capable of handling the length of the GTX 280's
2. Windowed
3. c/w Fans, I don't mind purchasing 1 or 2, but would be btter if it already came with a bunch (as in 1200).
4. Relatively quiet.

Thanks in advance
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2008, 05:22 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

I have the 1200 and love it but you might want to look at the CoolerMaster HAF 932

NCIX.com - Buy Cooler Master Haf 932 Full Tower Black EATX Case 6X5.25 1X3.5 5X3.5INT No PSU USB eSATA 1394 Audio - RC-932-KKN1 In Canada.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2008, 07:26 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

I myself am running an Antec 900, and I must say it's done nothing but please me so far. So with the increased cooling and headroom, I'm sure if you purchased the 1200 it won't disappoint. That thing is beast. It's got my vote :p
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2008, 03:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hartford,CT
Posts: 18
Default

I have an Antec 1200 and was running 2 GTX260s for a while and this case kept them cool. I also had no clearance issues. Make sure to buy 2 extra 120mm fans and depending on your psu you my need an 8pin extension for your cpu power because it is bottom mounted. Airflow is great but because of the bottom mounted psu you may have some issues with water cooling. I installed 7 scythe 110cfm 120mm fans and it now moves a ton of air and stays quiet. All in all its a great case and very roomy. I love mine.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2008, 04:09 PM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Gruntsworthy View Post
I myself am running an Antec 900, and I must say it's done nothing but please me so far. So with the increased cooling and headroom, I'm sure if you purchased the 1200 it won't disappoint. That thing is beast. It's got my vote :p
I'm pleased with my 900 also & would no doubt be twice as pleased if I went to a 1200. awesome case.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 01:20 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

personally, i would go with 900, not that I have one made me biased. I only bought for the superior air flow. Once built it, its on the floor. THe 1200 is a little large, damn italics LoL HOw did I do italics?
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 02:20 AM
Evilyeti's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brandon, Manitoba
Posts: 316

My System Specs

Default

Here are some pictures of my current Antec 1200




I had an Antec 900 before, and it just did not have enough space so i upgraded to the Antec 1200 and i like it a lot more.

Aside from the fact its a full size case, and it weights as much as an elephant once its full.

It has lots of room, and holds more fans you can imagine. I have 1 9800GX2 in there and its pretty much the same size as the GTX280. So I don't think SLI is going to a be a problem inside this case if that's what your planning on doing.
__________________
This is my signature! Roar
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 03:10 AM
joeperson's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 238
Default

I'd take a close look at the coolermaster/antec comparison. The coolermaster's fans are biggar :O Smallest one is 140mm.

Coolermasters ncix specs have this interesting quote, "Side: 230 x 30 mm standard fan x 1, 700 rpm, 19 dBa (support 120 x 25 fan x 4)" Anyone care to comment on taking that stock 230 and throwing in four 120s?
__________________
Q6600 3.0GHZ (9x333) stockV | ATI 5850 | OCZ Platinum 4GB PC2-6400 DDR2 5.4.4.15 1.9V | Silverstone Raven RV01 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Corsair Professional HX750W | Windows 7 | Crossbow mounted Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | LG W2242TQ-BF 22" | Samsung 2253BW 22"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 04:22 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

I used to have a 900 and looking at the pics, it seems the 1200 has wayyy better capable management capability. I had to make holes in the 900 with a dremmel to have any kind of cable management. Is there a new and improved version out there ? If not, I would go with the 1200 for more space and more cable management even if the 2 GTX280 would fit in the 900.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 04:29 AM
Evilyeti's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brandon, Manitoba
Posts: 316

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
I used to have a 900 and looking at the pics, it seems the 1200 has wayyy better capable management capability. I had to make holes in the 900 with a dremmel to have any kind of cable management. Is there a new and improved version out there ? If not, I would go with the 1200 for more space and more cable management even if the 2 GTX280 would fit in the 900.
The cable management from the 900 to the 1200 is greatly improved. The only thing i noticed was going from the 900 to the 1200, since the 1200 is full tower, some cables might not be long enough to go from the bottom to the upper area of the case. I had to use either a 18 or 24" sata2 cable for my dvd drive so it would reach.
__________________
This is my signature! Roar
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes