Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Cases

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2008, 03:39 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default Quick question for all Cosmos S users

I have a question for any and all Cosmos S users

I just got the newer revision of the Cosmos S, which uses magnet front swing doors instead of locked front swing doors, and when my computer turned off, the power button is illuminated but not as much as when my computer is turned on.

Is the power button supposed to be illuminated when the computer is turned off?
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2008, 03:59 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Mine isn't.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2008, 04:04 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

I would check the reset and power switch connections plugs that go on the mobo, I've seen instances where when both are connected on opposite slots (like power switch in reset place and vice versa) it still works, but the light stays illuminated.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2008, 09:25 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

The Cosmos S has no reset switch cable so all you have is a power switch cable and HDD LED cable. I tried switching the polarity(not sure if it matters) by rotating the power switch cable 180 however that didn't help. I hope they send me a replacement front I/O panel if indeed this is an issue.
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2008, 09:49 PM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default

No, the button does not illuminate unless the system has power. Doesn't really make sense why they wouldn't have added something to make that work.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2008, 09:54 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Agreed mine does not illuminate either if power is not on and i think i have same magnetic thing your talking aboot. Id recheck the connection of that 2 plug slot next to your 24 pin connector of your motherboard.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 10:08 AM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

Alright guys, thanks for everyone's reply. Now all I gotta do is see if Cooler Master will send me a replacement I/O panel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashock View Post
Id recheck the connection of that 2 plug slot next to your 24 pin connector of your motherboard.
Do you mean the 2-pin button cable that is connected to the 24-pin extending cable that comes included with the Cosmos S?
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 10:51 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Yes sir you got it you might have it reversed id recheck that as thats the only connection to that front board led.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 06:35 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

I think the cables are in the correct spot. Heres a shot of the 24-pin connector.



Can anyone who has a Cosmos S confirm that the layout of the power button cable is correct?
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.

Last edited by werty316; September 14, 2008 at 07:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 09:23 AM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iamcanadian7 View Post
No, the button does not illuminate unless the system has power.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashock View Post
Agreed mine does not illuminate either if power is not on
Can you guys do a quick check when you got a chance and confirm with me whether both of you indeed do have the new revision(it has magnet swing doors instead of push-locking swing doors; it also has two big holes on the bottom of the front panel) as there is a user on the Cooler Master forums who is saying that the power button being slightly illuminated on the new revision of the Cosmos S is normal when the computer not powered on.

/me scratches head
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.

Last edited by werty316; September 15, 2008 at 09:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes