Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 10:39 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default Ebz watercooling project

Ok, since a couple of members went to watercooling in the past few weeks, and since it made more then a year or so that i realy wanted to watercool my computer i have decide to jump on it and rebuild my system.

Systeme spec are the following :

AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE0617 (golden chip) @ 2.8ghz @1.28V (stock 1.8Ghz 1.35V)
DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D Mod to SLI
2 x 1gb DDR500 OCZ Gold Gamer Xtreme XTC
2 x 80gb sata2 raid 0
Sony DVD-rw
Corsair HX620W modular PSU
Thermaltake Armor Case

The watercooling parts list is the following

Thermochill PA120.3
Swiftech MCP655
D-tek Fuzion v2 cpu block
D-Tek Fuzion V2 gfx vga block
Swiftech MCRES or DD Fillport (have both)
Masterkleer 7/16 tubing
D-tek High flow 1/2'' barbs
3 x Silverstoneteck FM121 fan
Swiftech RadBox

I have receive so far the rad, pump and cpu block

the rest should arrive monday or so

i have mount the fan on the rad with #8 - 1-'' screw. for some reason the #6 screw everyone recommended here were slack on my PA120.3 rad

mounting the rad with the rad box was a charm but i found the rad box not to be very secure compare to the size of that PA120.3

i have also raise my Thermaltake iCage a couple bay up so i can place the pump at the bottom of the case.

i have sleeved the fan wire with the yellow sleeving kit i have bought @ DC last year when i bought my case. that way i dont have tons of wire messing at the back of my case.

i had to remove the LGA775 fast mounting that was on the fuzion cpu block and replace it with the universal mounting kit that was include with the block.
Attached Images
       
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 10:52 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

Ou! Looks like you should get some nice numbers with that RAD on that CPU! Its Massive!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 11:26 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

im hoping better temp then air on both the x1950xt and the opty ...

with that freezer cpu cooler im idling @ 30C and full @ 43C

VGA is another story idle @ 55, full @ 85-86C
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 11:52 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

I think that this PA120.3 is a wee bit too much for the Radbox. Any way you could support it?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 12:05 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

no idea .. custom rad box !?!?! i might try to do it a little leg to help maintaining the rad at a vertical position. otherwise it seems solid but not has i was expecting
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 12:52 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Damn, that one will be easier in French. Y faut le supporter pour empecher le Radbox de plier, comme c'est le cas dans la photo. Y faudrait le garder bien droit, a la verticale. ca aiderait le radbox vu que c'est du plastique.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 01:13 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Very nice indeed.

If I were you though when your attaching the tubing it would be a good idea to unclip the radiator from the case-otherwise you could break the attachment. Looks like you have plenty of room to wrestle the tubing onto the pump which is good.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 01:16 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

What I wrote in French is exactly that: the radbox is already bending under the weight of the rad - with no liquid in it yet.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 01:34 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

mmm french is on my to-do list. Alas a long time ago I was stranded in the bottom french set following a move to a new high school- I had no chance.

Hopefully once the tubing is attached it will provide some extra ridigity. But I hadnt noticed the bend in the top photo -it must be very heavy I've tried bending mine as I type.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
What I wrote in French is exactly that: the radbox is already bending under the weight of the rad - with no liquid in it yet.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.

Last edited by magictorch; July 31, 2008 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 06:23 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

thank you for your french word buddy... lol

i will make a little leg or something like to to help support the bottom of the rad and keeping it vertical
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes