Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:10 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default Not My PC...But You Have To See This!

This is insane..look at the pics and drool.

Folding/Gaming Beast

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:36 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default

Wow! Hope the owner doesn't live in your area. That puppy looks like it could suck the power grid down to a brown out at least.

__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:39 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

I would like to see how Assasin's Creed runs on that machine.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:40 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterlarry View Post
Wow! Hope the owner doesn't live in your area. That puppy looks like it could suck the power grid down to a brown out at least.

Isn't that...ummm...overkill? I'd say it's more of a proof-of-concept type of project... just to say that it can be done. That puppy probably needs a 220v hookup.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:43 AM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

That has got to be the messiest rig I have ever seen. What is it, two computers in one case? I see two motherboards, 4 psus, 8 9800gx2s, and millions of cables.

But impressive none the less.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:49 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

it look like the montain mod dual cube case. which can hold 2 dedicated computer

im also seeing 4 psu, 2 mobo and 8 9800gx2 with million feet of cables
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:49 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 603
Default

It looks like one of the mountain mods cases - but yeah that's what it is I believe. Damn ebdoradz beat me to it
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:50 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mibs View Post
That has got to be the messiest rig I have ever seen. What is it, two computers in one case? I see two motherboards, 4 psus, 8 9800gx2s, and millions of cables.

But impressive none the less.
Hmmm... i never thought about that. It might only be considered 8 GPU's/PC, if it's on 2 mobos. I wonder if both sides are attached via one- big-@ss SLI bridge? If not, i doubt that one side could render 1/2 and the other side render the second half.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:54 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

A little excessive maybe, just a smidge overboard I think. But dam () if it ain't sweet. Could you imagine the folding and crunching one could do with that? not to mention the gaming.

__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:58 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreqE1 View Post
A little excessive maybe, just a smidge overboard I think. But dam () if it ain't sweet. Could you imagine the folding and crunching one could do with that? not to mention the gaming.

gamaing should not be that impressive since you cant get higher performance then a quad sli system . in this case it will only use 2 9800gx2 the 2 other will idle

but on F@H im sure this beast can push impressive numbers
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes