Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #871 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 12:16 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,605

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
Oh right, any pics of it around here?
Post your Home Theatre
2nd shelf from the top.

It is a Sans Digital TR8M-B 8 drive eSATA enclosure.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #872 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 01:49 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,605

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curtispan View Post
Jeez that's a lot. I'm guessing you grabbed most of 'em when bluray became the standard?
I was a fan of HD-DVD before they dropped out of the race (as it was the superior choice ). But yes I did buy a ton of them after they started getting dirt cheap. I also *had* about the same number of blurays until they got stolen

But once the disc is ripped they are identical anyways. So whatever is cheaper is good for me.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #873 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 02:19 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I also *had* about the same number of blurays until they got stolen
Funny you should mention that, I was just thinking, if someone broke into your place they would have a hayday in your living room, along with all of your data
Dont think id feel comfortable having all that hardware on display, storage would be hiding between some floor boards or in a safe :P Thx for postin the pic lowfat.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #874 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 02:28 PM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 748
Default

Glad to see someone using the M-Audio Q40's! Honestly speaking, they have amazing sound quality for the price! How are you liking them lowfat?
__________________
Seriously people, I am not a mod. Stop messaging me D:


Reply With Quote
  #875 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 02:39 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,605

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
Funny you should mention that, I was just thinking, if someone broke into your place they would have a hayday in your living room, along with all of your data
Dont think id feel comfortable having all that hardware on display, storage would be hiding between some floor boards or in a safe :P Thx for postin the pic lowfat.
The thieves were stupid and only stole my TV and movies. The movies were actually hidden in the closet too. Left the HTPC, home theater, and all my storage
Quote:
Originally Posted by llama_egg View Post
Glad to see someone using the M-Audio Q40's! Honestly speaking, they have amazing sound quality for the price! How are you liking them lowfat?
I enjoy them. That is once you get use to the tension. I've had them for about a year and a half now. The ear cushions are worn out and I can't find replacements for them. I also find the imaging a little on the weak side. I have a lot of problems w/ directionality in games. And after an hour or two my ears start to get soar. But musically they are pretty damn awesome for the price.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #876 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 02:53 PM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 748
Default

Aye, I know what you mean, they have quite a bit of a clamp to them, though I have somewhat gotten use to it by now. Apparently you can stretch each side a bit at a time and eventually it won't be so tight. Also, not sure if they are available in Canada, but I've heard DT770 Velour Earpads are an amazing mix with the Q40's, not to mention more comfortable to boot.

And where did you get your table from? I've been looking for something simple and clean.
__________________
Seriously people, I am not a mod. Stop messaging me D:


Reply With Quote
  #877 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 03:03 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,605

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by llama_egg View Post
Aye, I know what you mean, they have quite a bit of a clamp to them, though I have somewhat gotten use to it by now. Apparently you can stretch each side a bit at a time and eventually it won't be so tight. Also, not sure if they are available in Canada, but I've heard DT770 Velour Earpads are an amazing mix with the Q40's, not to mention more comfortable to boot.

And where did you get your table from? I've been looking for something simple and clean.
I casn't find the DT770 eadpads in Canada anywhere.

My desk is from Ikea.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #878 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 07:51 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 224
Default

My new setup after cleaning up.




__________________
Xeon 1660 ES V3 8c/16t @3.2Ghz
MSI X99S MPower
32GB Corsair LPX 2400 DDR4
Xfx R9 290X (x2) | Dell 2709W @1200p(left) Yamakasi Q270 Catleap 2b @1440p 120hz (Right) LG 4k w/Freesync (center)
Samsung 950 Pro m.2 @ Gen3 x4 32Gbps | Seagate 4Tb with 256 SSD cache
Corsair Obsidian 800D | Seasonic X-1250
HeatKiller 3.0 | EK R9 290x WB (x2) | TFC Exchanger Quad Rad |Thermochill PA120.3 rad|TFC Dual rad Scythe Gentle Typhoon (x9) |Swiftech MCP655 (x2) | Koolance bay Resevior
Reply With Quote
  #879 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 09:34 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,605

My System Specs

Default

Nice system you gots there. Any reason why you don't have the center display as your primary?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #880 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 12:01 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Nice system you gots there. Any reason why you don't have the center display as your primary?
My center is primary when looking at the internet or working on files, the sides are for msn chat, video or music player. I prefer shortcuts on the left most monitor so I can click them without minimizing the center monitor.
__________________
Xeon 1660 ES V3 8c/16t @3.2Ghz
MSI X99S MPower
32GB Corsair LPX 2400 DDR4
Xfx R9 290X (x2) | Dell 2709W @1200p(left) Yamakasi Q270 Catleap 2b @1440p 120hz (Right) LG 4k w/Freesync (center)
Samsung 950 Pro m.2 @ Gen3 x4 32Gbps | Seagate 4Tb with 256 SSD cache
Corsair Obsidian 800D | Seasonic X-1250
HeatKiller 3.0 | EK R9 290x WB (x2) | TFC Exchanger Quad Rad |Thermochill PA120.3 rad|TFC Dual rad Scythe Gentle Typhoon (x9) |Swiftech MCP655 (x2) | Koolance bay Resevior
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes