Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #481 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 08:18 AM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

Shweeet!
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #482 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 08:36 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

All five monitors off one PC? or multiple PC's? Nice and neat given the amount of equipment.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #483 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 09:54 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
All five monitors off one PC? or multiple PC's? Nice and neat given the amount of equipment.
Thnks

2 PC's. One is triple monitor display (when crossfire not enabled), 2nd is dual monitor. Both controlled with one mouse and keyboard (thnks to Multiplicity software).

One computer in behind the door of the desk (on the right), with 2 120mm fans sucking air out the top back (had to cut the holes). 2 80mm holes cut along the lower inside corner (foot area), for air to come in. The other computer in inside doorway on the right side. Hole in wall for cabling to go through... for the 2 17" CRT monitors.

There is actually a third computer in the setup ...not shown in this picture. Doing stability testing on it....15" monitor is on top of one of the 17's. All 3 computers are controlled via the Keyboard and mouse shown in front of the 24" monitor.

Current project is triple display via TripleHead2go...I want to game with triple display in COD4. Have to buy 3 22" monitors...currently saving up for them.
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #484 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 10:24 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LionRed View Post
Current project is triple display via TripleHead2go...I want to game with triple display in COD4. Have to buy 3 22" monitors...currently saving up for them.
Ooooo... you got me thinking now. I have a 24" straddled by two 20"ers. Seen any screen shots of that? Does it expand out the sides or just stretch the image and cut off the top&bottom to maintain aspect ratio?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #485 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 10:26 AM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Hey lionred whats that black pad under your desk? a foot rest?
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #486 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 11:37 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
Ooooo... you got me thinking now. I have a 24" straddled by two 20"ers. Seen any screen shots of that? Does it expand out the sides or just stretch the image and cut off the top&bottom to maintain aspect ratio?
Works best when monitors are all the same size....and 3 22" @ 1680x1050 each is the largest res (w/e that res works out to be) TripleHead supports. Could go with 24" but from what I can understand....things get squishy looking/feeling with 3 24's due to the Triple head not supporting 3 24's at 1920x1200 (maybe someone in the know can better explain it). I am a little nervous about buying 2 more 24's and it feeling squishy....so I will probably go with 22"s. It'd be best if you did some searching ...as I am still in the learning about it as well.

Realityshift....yes it is a footrest that can tilt forward or back....I got it with my chair. And my back has never felt better leaving my desk after hours of playing games ...My old Walmart special was killing me
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #487 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 11:42 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

From my experience running monitors at a slightly different res than it's native (i.e. 1680x1050 vs. 1920x1200) looks like crap so it sounds like the 3x22" monitors is the best choice.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #488 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 12:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LionRed View Post
Thnks
Current project is triple display via TripleHead2go...I want to game with triple display in COD4. Have to buy 3 22" monitors...currently saving up for them.
I'm currently an owner of a triplehead2go with 3 samsung 1600 x 1050 22" monitors and i want to let you know that gaming with the 3 extra wide monitors is less than satisfactory. your better off with 3 19" monitors. Almost every game i've played has been distorted (stretched so chars look short and fat.) @ 3840 x 1024 and 4080 x 768 which are currently the largest resolutions allowed under windows vista.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #489 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 01:37 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 469
Default

Thnks Tzetsin,

That is good to know...and considering I already have 2 19".
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #490 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2009, 02:00 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,955

My System Specs

Default

0o0o0o A BeyondTV + HD PVR user. What revision HD PVR do you use? I swear that thing is more trouble than it is worth.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes