Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:07 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default This one is for you Wolfbane!

Alrighty, got all the parts, and almost done! Here are some teasers.....

The RAM is Gskill 4GB kit of 1000MHZ, the same stuff I am using now. Case is going into my Silverstone TJ09 with a MCR220 up top for CPU cooling....

Had a little snag on that asus Xonar though... the power connector fell off when I went to install it....so RMA, should have the replacement tomorrow. I am currently installing the OS, I did the loop and bleeded it/leak tested it tuesday night.

Edit! Updated!!!! I only wish this case had more room to hide cables, but I think I did ok!































__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.

Last edited by Cptn Vortex; July 25, 2008 at 08:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:22 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

Whoa. That is one nice, shiny Apogee GT (bowed) block!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:25 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Thats what I am talkn about!!!!!
Man i can't wait to get this rig in my grubby hands lol :)
That should look good in that TJ09 as well :)
Thats sure a pretty mb and vid card lol :)
Looking forward to more ! Again thankyou for all your help in building this rig for me :)
I am curious as to the temps when all said and done :)
OC that baby huh ?:)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:30 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Whoa. That is one nice, shiny Apogee GT (bowed) block!
Lol John i was just gonna say those parts look brand freakn new !!!!
Points for you bud!!!!!!!! And its bowed ???? I think thats a good thing lol means cooler temps on the E3110 ???
Now my ? is that chip a good batch Q811a???????
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:34 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Sure dosn't look like the 286 i had in 1984 , nor the 386 or even the 486,p4 3.gig either lol
I am definatly thinking this will run any games like F.E.A.R and such :) , sure been wanting to play that fear game for a while now lol
Ohhh and i will have to try Farcry with this baby to :)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 09:48 PM
paphman910's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 199
Default

Why did you get the Xeon E3110 over the E8400? Isn't the E8400 cheaper than the Xeon E3110?

Paphman910
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 10:04 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Sure is but the 3110 clocks a bit better and is cooler from what i understand .
I hear you get a better oc with a lower voltage= less heat :)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 10:05 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

the 4870 nice! have they fixed the driver issues yet? I'm not sure whether to get one or not.. or get a 4870x2 when it comes out.. but ATI has always had problems writing drivers
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 10:13 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

A Xeon ALWAYS has more processing power than a standard CPU. No matter what they say. There are a few differances. Unless, f you really wanna smoke some cycles, BUY a Power 6:xD
Sweet system, but, I wouldnt be able to tell cept for the ATI:P
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 10:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Nice stuff Wolfbane!!..

I'd love to see the build log Sir Vortex!!.. Its a simple CPU only log, that is what I am doing, some pointers for myself.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes