Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1061 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2009, 07:12 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Nikonman, I see. You have a sample of what is the best lens out there bar none, in my opinion. A 70-200mm VR.
I love the lens. Did a lot of research on that glass before I got it. It has gone up in value since I go it ...$300 bucks more from last summer.
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #1062 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2009, 07:31 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

It will stay a Classic for a very long time. I coupled mine with a D2x, best match I could have ever dreamt. Heavy combo (11 lbs), but I can't say no to 12 fps with a constant f2.8!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #1063 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2009, 08:35 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
It will stay a Classic for a very long time. I coupled mine with a D2x, best match I could have ever dreamt. Heavy combo (11 lbs), but I can't say no to 12 fps with a constant f2.8!
Cool...I picked up a D300 Dec 2007. Only 6fps...but good enough (for me..for now).

12fps...go away..im busy spending on computer stuff for now. Eventually I will get the 8fps....but 12 would be cool.
I almost got a D3 but got the glass and some other stuff.
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #1064 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 09:42 AM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

That TV swivel stand is exactly what I am looking for! I'd been thinking of making one, Lee Valley has some good harware for them. But something like that would work perfectly for my bench!

Using a KVM? Where are the displays?

I like the APC UPS, what model is it and how do you like it?

Love the setup, but itching to fly over there and fix your cables!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LionRed View Post
I posted my setup before...but I re-organized them all into the back basement room.

Picked up a Tupperware rack...plastic, but it works for me.

Decided to put the computers on shelving and bottom on on an old tv swivel stand.

Like to thank my wife for allowing me to move the standup freezer
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #1065 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 02:14 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lithotech View Post
That TV swivel stand is exactly what I am looking for! I'd been thinking of making one, Lee Valley has some good harware for them. But something like that would work perfectly for my bench!

Using a KVM? Where are the displays?

I like the APC UPS, what model is it and how do you like it?

Love the setup, but itching to fly over there and fix your cables!
Not using any KVM (Switch?). Control all computers over network with Multiplicity.
APC is Back-UPS XS 1300. Works great, I got it after finally getting big rig up and running stable...power flickered a few times . So I ran out and got a UPS.


This is where the monitors are relative to the computer cases.

Next job is to tidy up the desk :help:
You may be itching to get to fix my cables...but I am not....that will be another step in the project.

I have one last computer to add...the living room HTPC...ties the HD PVR, the SD recording comp....along with XBMC, all together, for viewing on the 50" tv.





lowfat...you can get more HD's in with these? - Startech 3X5.25IN to 5 Bay 3.5IN
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #1066 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 08:14 AM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LionRed View Post
Not using any KVM (Switch?). Control all computers over network with Multiplicity.
APC is Back-UPS XS 1300. Works great, I got it after finally getting big rig up and running stable...power flickered a few times . So I ran out and got a UPS.


This is where the monitors are relative to the computer cases.
Awesome.

How are you connecting the systems to the monitors? Extra long cables? And at least one keyboard and mouse extra long?

Multiplicity is interesting, testing it now on my main and spare. I see that it lets you share input devices, and isn't a remote desktop of sorts. I can't use a KVM because my G15 won't work with one. Luckily, I have the spare's monitor already in place and view. Multiplicity will aloow me to ditch the second keyboard and mouse from my desk.

Unfortunately, contrary to their website as stating that the free two system package is not actually free, and is only a 15 day trial? Or am I missing something here?

My UPS died a while ago during a winter storm. Something frizzled inside it, not repairable. At least it didn't hurt my system. So, I've been looking for a 600W+ unit at a decent price. No luck so far, the prices have risen more than other components since the economy went to crap. A couple models I would like are just a few bucks too much for me right now, and I'll have to keep using the surge protector.

.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #1067 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 09:09 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

Why not just disconnected the front LEDs on the LC17B instead of taping them over?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #1068 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 10:27 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lithotech View Post
Awesome.

How are you connecting the systems to the monitors? Extra long cables? And at least one keyboard and mouse extra long?

Multiplicity is interesting, testing it now on my main and spare. I see that it lets you share input devices, and isn't a remote desktop of sorts. I can't use a KVM because my G15 won't work with one. Luckily, I have the spare's monitor already in place and view. Multiplicity will aloow me to ditch the second keyboard and mouse from my desk.

Unfortunately, contrary to their website as stating that the free two system package is not actually free, and is only a 15 day trial? Or am I missing something here?

My UPS died a while ago during a winter storm. Something frizzled inside it, not repairable. At least it didn't hurt my system. So, I've been looking for a 600W+ unit at a decent price. No luck so far, the prices have risen more than other components since the economy went to crap. A couple models I would like are just a few bucks too much for me right now, and I'll have to keep using the surge protector.

.
You can find a couple of programs that do what Multiplicity does. Just have to do a little googling I guess. I just figured Stardocks program was worth the 29US.

Yes...extension cables for monitors and USB ext (still waiting for my 20ft optical cable for my headphones). I put a hole in the wall....with a light switch faceplate over it (make it look a little tidy..better then just a hole in the wall).

lowfat - I may just do that. But I did put a couple of pin holes in the tape so I can see HardDrive activity. Those LEDs are like laser beams
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #1069 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2009, 04:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 196
Default

Nice setups!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #1070 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 08:10 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LionRed View Post
lowfat - I may just do that. But I did put a couple of pin holes in the tape so I can see HardDrive activity. Those LEDs are like laser beams
I wouldn't know since I have never hooked them up ever even thought I've had the case a year. Having bright LED's on an HTPC case is a silly idea IMO.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
case , custom , gallery , image thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Far Cry on Vista X64 - HDR-AA Pics. Patriote Gaming 26 October 2, 2008 04:47 PM
GeForce 9800 X2 pics! Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 27 January 16, 2008 12:57 PM
Pics of my first decent rig donimo Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 13 November 9, 2007 12:02 PM
Uploaded pics for my mom Misoprostol Off Topic 5 May 1, 2007 02:40 AM
Sig pics? sswilson Suggestions & Feedback 4 December 18, 2006 08:58 PM